Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here

Home > Features > Moments in history >

Alex Moir bowls two consecutive overs in a Test innings to emulate Warwick Armstrong!

Alex Moir bowls two consecutive overs in a Test innings to emulate Warwick Armstrong!

Australian captain Warwick Armstrong leads his team out in the Trent Bridge Test in May 1921. It was during this tour that Armstrong became the first man in Test history to bowl two consecutive overs in a Test innings — a mistake that was to repeat 30 years later during a Test match between New Zealand and England © Getty Images

On March 28, 1951 Alex Moir became only the second cricketer in the history of Test cricket to bowl two consecutive overs in an innings. Abhishek Mukherjee looks back at one of the oddest incidents ever to take place on a cricket field.

When Warwick Armstrong somehow bowled two consecutive overs on either side of a declaration (England had declared before the close of play on the first day, which was against the rules in 1921, and hence had resume batting) in the 1921 Old Trafford Test, everyone passed it as an umpiring error, and one that was not likely to be repeated. However, it took only 30 years for the ‘feat’ to be emulated — once again against England.

What happened before?

New Zealand had succumbed to the strong English bowling attack for 125 in 70 eight-ball overs — led by the leg-breaks of Doug Wright, who took five for 48. Alex Moir was the highest scorer with 26 not out, and not a single batsman looked in control.

The Kiwis fought back hard, having England at 69 for four at one stage. However, Len Hutton and captain Freddie Brown set up tent, and with Trevor Bailey, Godfrey Evans, and Alec Bedser all contributing, England ambled to 227, taking a significant lead of 102 runs. Fen Cresswell and Tom Burtt took three wickets apiece. 

Roy Tattersall picked up the first five New Zealand wickets with his off-breaks. It looked all over at 105 for seven, but Verdun Scott chiseled out a gutsy 60, and Moir contributed again, guiding New Zealand to 189, 87 runs ahead. Tattersall took six for 44, supported by Bailey, who took three for 43.

The eventful overs

England required only 88 for a victory in two hours. Though Reg Simpson was dismissed early, Hutton and Gilbert Parkhouse kept England firmly on track. Walter Hadlee persisted with his main bowlers, Cresswell and Burtt, and brought his leg-break bowler Moir back for the over before tea. England went to tea at 35 for one, requiring 53 more in an hour and a half. 


After tea, as S Canynge Capel wrote in his The All-Blacks of Cricket, Moir bowled the first over ‘in the general excitement’. None of Moir, the batsmen, Hadlee, or the umpires — Jock McLellan and Melville Pengelly — seemed to notice, and play got under way normally. England scampered to victory with six wickets in hand.


Despite the one-sided result, it was Moir’s curious ‘double’ that has made the Wellington Test memorable, and still features regularly in cricket quizzes all round the world.


Brief Scores:  New Zealand 125 (Doug Wright 5 for 48) and 189 (Verdun Scott 60; Roy Tattersall 6 for 44) lost to England 227 (Len Hutton 57, Freddie Brown 47) and 91 for 4 by 6 wickets.

(Abhishek Mukherjee is a cricket historian and Senior Cricket Writer at CricketCountry. He generally looks upon life as a journey involving two components – cricket and literature – though not as disjoint elements. A passionate follower of the history of the sport with an insatiable appetite for trivia and anecdotes, he has also a steady love affair with the incredible assortment of numbers that cricket has to offer. He also thinks he can bowl decent leg-breaks in street cricket, and blogs at He can be followed on Facebook at on Twitter at

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 19, 2014 (16:00 IST)   at Dubai

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 19, 2014 (20:00 IST)   at Dubai

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 20, 2014 (20:00 IST)   at Sharjah

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 21, 2014 (20:00 IST)   at Abu Dhabi

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 22, 2014 (20:00 IST)   at Sharjah


Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 18, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

Rajasthan Royals won by 4 wkts

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 18, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

Kings XI Punjab won by 6 wkts

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 17, 2014  at Sharjah

Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 8 wkts

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 16, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

Kolkata Knight Riders won by 41 runs

Womens World T20, 2014

Apr 6, 2014  at Dhaka

Australia Women won by 6 wkts


Delhi vs Bangalore match 2, IPL 2014 at Sharjah


Video Highlights: Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders wickets

IPL Statistics and Records: IPL’s First

IPL 2014: Umpire Camera View creates latest buzz in tournament

IPL 7: Vintage Jacques Kallis showed his class for Kolkata Knight Riders against Mumbai Indians

IPL 2014: Capacity crowd at UAE provides glimpse of the T20 league’s huge following

BCCI Chennai Super Kings Delhi Daredevils England India IPL IPL 7 IPL 2014 Kings XI Punjab Kolkata Knight Riders Lasith Malinga MS Dhoni Mumbai Indians Royal Challengers Bangalore Virat Kohli

Pakistan Cricket Board bring out strict eligibility rules for appointing coaches

Peter Moores set to become England coach

IPL 2014: Anjinkya Rahane says he was confident of overhauling Sunrisers Hyderabad’s target

Delhi Daredevils vs Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2014, Match 6 Preview: Delhi search for first win

Rajasthan Royals open their IPL 2014 campaign with a nervy 4-wicket over Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2014: Rajasthan Royals’ team composition vital for success

Kings XI Punjab’s local talent gives them an added dimension in IPL 2014

Former Australia PM Robert Menzies used cricket to win a case as a lawyer

Naoomal Jaoomal: The man who opened batting in India’s first ever Test

Sony launches ‘IPL Smart Earphone’ to filter crap commentary; calls endeavour CSR

Fan of the Day

Sudatta Mukherjee

Sudatta Mukherjee

1 Posts | 0 Fans

Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2014 Video Highlights

CUPS, a mobile application for unlimited coffee, launched

6.9-earthquake off PNG Bougainville: USGS

RR vs SRH, IPL 2014: Rajasthan Royals win by 4 wickets against Sunrisers Hyderabad

11 possible causes of coughing up blood

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) vs Rajasthan Royals (RR), Score Update: Rajasthan win by 4 wickets

Why is Boman Irani happy for Jolly LLB’s National Film Award?

Kumar Vishwas booked in Amethi

Samsung Galaxy K Zoom’s camera sample surfaces online

Also on