India in Test Cricket at Lord’s – A statistical report
When MS Dhoni leads India to the second Test match at Lord’s, he will become the third Indian to captain two Lord’s Tests after Ajit Wadekar and Mohammad Azharuddin © Getty Images


India had played their very first Test match at Lord’s in 1932. Bharath Seervi provides a statistical report on India’s Test history at this venue before the Lord’s Test of the ongoing series.

On June 25, 1932 India became the sixth nation to play Test Cricket when CK Nayudu’s team was against the England team at Lord’s. Lord’s, as very well known, is said to be Mecca of Cricket world. The Indian team on 16 tours to England played 16 Test matches at Lord’s – one on every tour. Out of the 53 Tests India played in England, 16 have come at Lord’s (over 30 per cent of the matches). But India managed to win only one of those 16 Tests – in 1986 under Kapil Dev. The team lost 11 and drew 4. Below is the list of the 16 Test matches India played at Lord’s against England.


Date Captain Result Margin of Result
June 25, 1932 CK Nayudu Lost By 158 Runs
June 27, 1936 Maharajah of Vizianagram Lost By 9 Wickets
June 22, 1946 Nawab of Pataudi Sr Lost By 10 Wickets
June 19, 1952 Vijay Hazare Lost By 8 Wickets
June 18, 1959 Pankaj Roy Lost By 8 Wickets
June 22, 1967 Nawab of Pataudi Jr Lost By an Inn & 124 Runs
July 22, 1971 Ajit Wadekar Draw -
June 20, 1974 Ajit Wadekar Lost By an Inn & 285 Runs
August 2, 1979 Srinivas Venkatraghavan Draw -
June 10, 1982 Sunil Gavaskar Lost By 7 Wickets
June 5, 1986 Kapil Dev Won By 5 Wickets
July 26, 1990 Mohammad Azharuddin Lost By 247 Runs
June 20, 1996 Mohammad Azharuddin Draw -
July 25, 2002 Sourav Ganguly Lost By 170 Runs
July 19, 2007 Rahul Dravid Draw -
July 21, 2011 MS Dhoni Lost By 196 Runs


India’s only Test victory at Lord’s

The one and the only victory for India in Test matches at the Lord’s Cricket Stadium came in the 1986 tour under the captaincy of Kapil Dev. India won the toss and opted to put England to bat first. English team with help of Graham Gooch’s 114 and Derek Pringle’s 63 managed to score 294 runs in the first inning. Chetan Sharma took  five for 64 in the first inning.

Indian batsmen, in response, scored 341 runs thanks to Dilip Vengsarkar’s unbeaten 126 — his third consecutive Test century at Lord’s — and 69 from Mohinder Amarnath. Graham Dilley took four for 146.

Trailing by 47, England could score only 180 in their second innings with Mike Gatting top-scoring with 40. Kapil Dev took 4 for 52 which included wickets of England’s top three. India got a target of 136 runs to chase in the fourth inning. The team reached the target with five wickets in hand and registered their first victory at Lord’s. Skipper Kapil Dev was awarded the Man of the Match.


Centuries by Indian batsmen in Tests at Lord’s

India could win only one Test at Lord’s but the batsmen scored a total of ten centuries in the past and registered their names on the Honours Board of Lord’s.

- Six of the ten centuries had come in losing cause

- The first Test century by an Indian at Lord’s was Vinoo Mankad’s 184 in the 1952 tour. His 184 is still the highest score in Test cricket by an Indian at the venue.

- Dilip Vengsarkar (103, 157, 126*) is the only Indian to score more than one Test century at Lord’s and the only visiting player to score three Test centuries at Lord’s.

- Mohammad Azharuddin is the only Indian captain to score a Test century at Lord’s.

- Sourav Ganguly is the only Indian batsman to score a debut Test century at Lord’s.

- Ajit Agarkar is the only Indian to score a fourth inning Test century at Lord’s.

- The youngest Indian to score a Test century at Lord’s is Dilip Vengsarkar at age of 23 years and 123 days whereas the oldest is Rahul Dravid at age of 38 years and 193 days. Below is the list displaying the ten Test centuries so far by Indians at the Lord’s Cricket Stadium.



Runs Balls Fours Sixes Inn Tour Result
Vinoo Mankad 184 - 19 1 3 1952 Lost
Dilip Vengsarkar 103 295 13 0 3 1979 Draw
Gundappa Viswanath 113 337 14 0 3 1979 Draw
Dilip Vengsarkar 157 264 21 0 3 1982 Lost
Dilip Vengsarkar 126* 213 16 0 2 1986 Won
Ravi Shastri 100 184 12 1 2 1990 Lost
Mohammad Azharuddin 121 111 22 0 2 1990 Lost
Sourav Ganguly 131 301 20 0 2 1996 Draw
Ajit Agarkar 109* 190 16 0 4 2002 Lost
Rahul Dravid 103* 220 15 0 2 2011 Lost


Five-Wicket hauls by Indian bowlers in Tests at Lord’s

Indian bowlers, like the batsmen, have entered their name for the Honors Board at Lord’s. They are 12 of them with nine of them in losing cause.

- Mohammad Nisar (five for 93) in the very first Test took a five-wicket haul at Lord’s.

- The best bowling figures have been Amar Singh’s six for 35 in the second tour which was in 1936.

- The only other six-wicket haul was by Bishan Bedi in the 1974 Test by conceding 226 runs which is the most runs conceded by any bowler at Lord’s in Test Cricket.

- The youngest among the twelve to take achieve the feat is Ramakant Desai at age of 19 years and 364 days whereas the oldest is Vinoo Mankad at age of 35 years and 70 days. Below is the list displaying the twelve five-wicket hauls so far by Indians at Lord’s.



Figures Inn Tour Result
Mohammad Nisar 26-3-93-5 1 1932 Lost
Amar Singh 25.1-11-35-6 2 1936 Lost
Lala Amarnath 57-18-118-5 2 1946 Lost
Vinoo Mankad 73-24-196-5 2 1952 Lost
Ramakant Desai 31.4-89-5 2 1959 Lost
Bhagwat Chandrasekhar 53-9-127-5 2 1967 Lost
Bishan Bedi 64.2-8-226-6 1 1974 Lost
Kapil Dev 43-8-125-5 1 1982 Lost
Chetan Sharma 32-10-64-5 1 1986 Draw
Venkatesh Prasad 33.3-10-11-5 1 1996 Draw
RP Singh 16.3-3-59-5 3 2007 Draw
Praveen Kumar 40.3-10-106-5 1 2011 Lost



When MS Dhoni leads India to the second Test match at Lord’s, he will become only the third Indian to captain two Lord’s Tests after Ajit Wadekar and Mohammad Azharuddin.


(Bharath Seervi is a cricket statistician who is obsessed with digging numbers, facts and records related to the game. An active member of Society of Cricket Statisticians of India, he blogs He can be followed on Twitter and on Facebook at