Home > Features > Facts and figures >

India register 2nd most successful run-chase in ODI cricket


India have successfully chased target over 300 runs 12 times in ODI cricket © PTI

By Sarang Bhalerao

For a statistician, after Australia scored 359 for five in 50 overs, there were several things that delighted us. This was the third time Australia had scored 359 runs against India. The first occasion was the World Cup final at Johannesburg where India were beaten by 125 runs after Ricky Ponting’s magnificent unbeaten 140 runs. The second occasion was in the tri-series final against at the Sydney Cricket Ground which India lost comprehensively.

India avoided the hat-trick of defeat thanks to splendid effort centuries from the Rohit Sharma (141 not out) and Virat Kohli (100 not out). Shikhar Dhawan scored 95 before he was dismissed by James Faulkner. Had he scored five more runs this would have been the first instance in the One-Day International (ODI) cricket.

India achieved the total with 39 balls to spare. This is the second highest successful run-chase in ODI cricket. Australia failed to defend 434 against South Africa at Johannesburg in 2006.

List of highest successful run-chases

Team Against Score Overs Run-rate Venue Year
1 South Africa Australia 438 for 9 49.5 8.78 Johannesburg 2006
2 India Australia 362 for 1 43.3 8.32 Jaipur 2013
3 New Zealand Australia 350 for 9 49.3 7.07 Hamilton 2007
4 New Zealand Australia 340 for 5 48.4 6.98 Auckland 2007
5 Australia England 334 for 8 49.2 6.77 Sydney 2011

Australia have been on the receiving end on four of five occasions. This is the first time a team has chased in excess of 300 and won by nine wickets.

List of India’s highest successful run-chases

This is India’s 14th score in excess of 300 batting second and winning the game— the most by any team. This is also their first win over Australia chasing a total in excess of 300. There have been two instances where India did score in excess of 300 but the target was just below 300. In Jaipur, India needed 299 to win the game. With India needing two to win, MS Dhoni hit a six off Tillakaratne Dilshan. Against England at Mohali in 2011, India scored 300 to win the game.

Opponent Total Overs RPO Venue Year
1 Australia 362 for 1 43.3 8.32 Jaipur 2013
2 Pakistan 330 for 4 47.5 6.89 Dhaka 2012
3 England 326 for 8 49.3 6.58 Lord’s 2002
4 West Indies 325 for 5 47.4 6.81 Ahmedabad 2002
5 New Zealand 321 for 5 48.5 6.57 Bangalore 2010
6 Sri Lanka 321 for 3 36. 4 8.75 Hobart 2012
7 England 317 for 8 49.4 6.38 The Oval 2007
8 Sri Lanka 317 for 3 48.1 6.58 Kolkata 2009
9 Pakistan 316 for 7 47.5 6.6 Dhaka 1998
10 Sri Lanka 310 for 4 46.5 6.61 Karachi 2008
11 South Africa 302 for 7 49.4 6.08 Kochi 2000
12 Pakistan 301 for 4 7.13 7.13 Karachi 2008

(Sarang Bhalerao hails from a family of doctors, but did his engineering. He then dumped a career in IT with Infosys to follow his heart and passion and became a writer with CricketCountry. A voracious reader, Sarang aspires to beat Google with his knowledge of the game! You can follow him on Twitter here)

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 20, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Kolkata

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 22, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Dubai

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 22, 2014 (19:00 IST)   at Cuttack

South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 24, 2014 (03:00 IST)   at Mount Maunganui

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Oct 25, 2014 (09:00 IST)   at Dhaka


South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 21, 2014  at Mount Maunganui

South Africa won by 6 wkts

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 17, 2014  at Dharamsala

India won by 59 runs

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 14, 2014  at Visakhapatnam

Match cancelled

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 12, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

Australia won by 1 run

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 11, 2014  at Delhi

India won by 48 runs


India vs West Indies 4th ODI at Dharamsala


AB de Villiers speaks ahead of New Zealand ODIs

South Africa vs New Zealand 2014: 5 memorable matches

Yasir Shah: The new spinning sensation for Pakistan

Virat Kohli takes wicket with the first (0th?) ball of his T20I career

Kevin Pietersen’s autobiography — a litany of complaints with a few redeeming patches

Banning West Indian players in IPL can affect the ‘Brand value’ of the event – Will BCCI take this gamble?

Australia Australia tour of UAE 2014 India India vs West Indies India vs West Indies 2014 New Zealand Pakistan Salaam Cricket South Africa West Indies West Indies cancel India tour 2014 West Indies tour of India 2014 West Indies vs India West Indies vs India 2014

Tinashe Panyangara turns 29

Brendon McCullum praises AB de Villiers, JP Duminy after South Africa’s win in 1st ODI over New Zealand

AB de Villiers pleased with South Africa’s performance against New Zealand in 1st ODI

Mohsin Khan did not respond to PCB coaching job request in 2012: Zaka Ashraf

Geoff Boycott turns 74

Virat Kohli becomes fastest to 20 ODI hundreds

A Pakistan all-time XI: A galaxy of captains

James Neesham can provide more impetus to New Zealand’s weakened batting up the order

Virender Sehwag turns 36: Five most memorable innings of the Nawab of Najafgarh

New Zealand begin ICC World Cup 2015 preparations with 15 ODIs in store

Fan of the Day

Gautam Singh

Gautam Singh

474 Posts | 5 Fans

Video Highlights Mohammed Yousuf drops catch after watching a girl in bikini

सेक्स टिप # 13: महिलाओं में कामेच्छा (low libido) की समस्या

Shane Watson desperate to make comeback

NGOs pursue education for all

Pat Cummins set to return for Australia during T20Is against South Africa

IBM to pay $1.5 billion to GlobalFoundries to buy its chip division

Happy New Year’s Boman Irani cuts a sorry figure at Dia Mirza-Sahil Sangha wedding!

आपकी दिवाली खुशनुमा, सुरक्षित और शुभ हो

Movies to watch this week: Happy New Year!

Diwali 2014 Special: Top 9 delicious dishes to enhance your taste buds

Narendra Modi personified Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva of popularity at Madison Square Garden

Also on cricketcountry.com

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here