Home > Features >

IPL 2014: 5 cricketers for whom the tide turned over

From left: Dale Steyn, Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen and Jacques Kallis... IPL 2014 a tournament to forget!
From left: Dale Steyn, Chris Gayle, Kevin Pietersen and Jacques Kallis… IPL 2014 a tournament to forget! © IANS

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen a lot of ups and downs over the years. Some of the big names of international cricket who had come into the cash-rich league with lot of expectations with them had failed big time. Sudatta Mukherjee looks at the five cricketers for whom IPL 2014 turned out to be a roller-coaster ride.

The fate of some of the famous and successful cricketers has changed overnight at the Indian Premier League (IPL). Experienced international cricketers like Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Mark Boucher, etc. did not have a successful run in the cash-rich league. Here is looking at five cricketers who came into IPL 2014, riding high on their international success, but could not deliver as expected.

1. Dale Steyn: One of the top bowlers in all forms of cricket in the current era, Dale Steyn has had rather a poor IPL 2014. The finest bowler of the contemporary generation, Steyn’s form came down with a crash in the ongoing tournament.

After playing 14 matches in IPL 7, he managed to pick up only 11 wickets and ended with an average of 39.18 and an economy rate of 7.69. Not only that, on three different occasions, Steyn was hit for more than 20 runs in an over four times — by AB de Villiers of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), George Bailey of Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), MS Dhoni of Chennai Super Kings (CSK), and Yusuf Pathan of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

2. Mitchell Johnson: When Mumbai Indians (MI) did not retain Mitchell Johnson ahead of IPL 2014 auction, there was a lot of cry over letting go of such an influential pacer, who, armed with snarling pace, steep bounce, and a moustache to die for, had steered Australia to the Ashes 2013-14 win against England and another series triumph on South African soil.

In the IPL, however, he has not done a lot to write home about during his stint for Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). He has played 12 matches in IPL 7 taking 14 wickets at an average of 25.64 and an economy rate of 7.89. He was hit for 19 runs by Robin Uthappa of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

3. Chris Gayle: Arguably the world’s most destructive batsman in the shortest format of the sport, Chris Gayle, had probably the worst season in the IPL in 2014. After nine matches, Gayle finished his IPL 7 season with 196 runs at an average of 21.77 and a strike-rate of 106.52.

It should be noted that in 2009 — his last poor outing — Gayle had scored the 171 runs from seven matches and had a decent average of 28.50 and a strike-rate of 119.58. In the last two IPL seasons, Gayle has scored more than 700 runs with a flurry of sixes and at an astronomical strike-rate. However, IPL 2014 witnessed a different Gayle, whose highest score of the season was 46 and was dismissed in all the matches he played.

4. Jacques Kallis: Coming out of Test retirement, Jacques Kallis’s fans waited to see him play again in the KKR jersey. One of the best all-rounders in the history of the sport, Kallis’s solid defence and powerful hitting, combined with his ability to break partnerships, have helped KKR enormously in the past.

However, 2014 has been a very sad season for the South African in IPL. Kolkata eventually dropped him from the playing XI and got Ryan ten Doeschate in his place.

5. Kevin Pietersen: After the controversial exit from the England setup and a return to the IPL in 2014 as the Delhi Daredevils (DD) skipper, all eyes were on Kevin Pietersen’s performance in the T20 league. Often given the title of freelance Twenty20 player after being removed from England cricket, Pietersen failed not only individually but ended up as the leader of the side that finished last in the Points Table.

Pietersen could initially not be a part of the set-up due to injury; but when he returned later during the tournament, he could not score the big runs. It was towards the end of the season, after Delhi’s chances of making it to the IPL playoffs faded off, Pietersen scored 49, 44 and 58 in the last three IPL matches.

Click here for IPL 2014 playoffs Schedule

Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7

Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results

Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage

(Sudatta Mukherjee is a reporter with CricketCountry. Other than writing on cricket, she spends penning random thoughts on her blog and produces weekly posts on new food joints at Whopping Weekends. She played Table Tennis for University of Calcutta. When she is not writing, you will catch her at a movie theatre or watching some English serial on her laptop. Her Twitter id is @blackrosegal)

India tour of Australia 2014, Practice matches

Nov 24, 2014 (05:29 IST)   at Glenelg, Adelaide

Pakistan vs New Zealand in UAE, 2014

Nov 26, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Sharjah

India tour of Australia 2014, Practice matches

Nov 28, 2014 (05:29 IST)   at Adelaide

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 28, 2014 (12:00 IST)   at Dhaka

England tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Nov 29, 2014 (10:00 IST)   at Colombo


Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 26, 2014  at Dhaka

Bangladesh won by 124 runs

England tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Nov 26, 2014  at Colombo

Sri Lanka won by 25 runs

Hong Kong tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Nov 24, 2014  at Colombo

Hong Kong won by 2 wkts

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 23, 2014  at Chittagong

Bangladesh won by 68 runs

South Africa tour of Australia, 2014

Nov 23, 2014  at Sydney

Australia won by 2 wickets (D/L method)


Phil Hughes suffers head injury: In photos


AB de Villiers: Disappointed with defeat in Australia

Sachin Tendulkar express shock on Phillip Hughes’ death

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) must be disqualified, says Supreme Court

Virat Kohli mourns Phil Hughes’ death

Phil Hughes passes away: Twitter reactions

Australia Bangladesh Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe 2014 England India India tour of Australia 2014-15 Pakistan Phil Hughes Phil Hughes head injury South Africa Sri Lanka Zimbabwe Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh 2014 Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh 2014

Phil Hughes’ death: Cricket community extends support to Sean Abbott

Phillip Hughes passes away: Bollywood expresses shock

Phillip Hughes’ death: Nari Contractor expresses his sorrow

Phillip Hughes’ death: Sad day for cricket, says Dilip Vengsarkar

Supreme Court revelations just tip of iceberg, says Kirti Azad

Phil Hughes and other cricketers who succumbed to on-field injuries

IPL 2013 spot-fixing controversy: When Will the Supreme Court make the whole Mudgal report public?

Phillip Hughes 7th-youngest Test cricketer to die

Phillip Hughes: A brief look at the career of one of Australia’s most promising talents

Phillip Hughes: Rest in peace

Fan of the Day

Niharika Shah

Niharika Shah

682 Posts | 6 Fans

Video: Phil Hughes suffers head injury, collapses on field during New South Wales vs South Australia tie

सुपरमॉडल केट का क्रिसमस के लिए ब्यूटी टिप्स

After Terry Walsh, women’s hockey coach Neil Hawgood resigns

इबोला प्रायोगिक दवा के प्रयोग के नतीजे सकारात्मक आए

Vikram shoots car chase sequence for Vijay Milton’s Pathu Enrathukkula

India is becoming our largest overseas market, Xiaomi CEO Lei Jun says

Bharti Airtel launches 4G service in Seychelles

Mona Singh inspired to take up theatre by her Zed Plus co-stars

More broadband connections to boost GDP growth in Asia Pacific: GSMA

Also on cricketcountry.com

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here