MS Dhoni (right) was denied a run due to a new rule in the MCC regarding high full-tosses © IANS
MS Dhoni (right) was denied a run due to a new rule which says if a no-ball is referred to a third-umpire, the runs taken off the delivery aren’t counted  © IANS

 

During the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 contest between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), MS Dhoni hit a high full-toss and was caught at third-man. It was called a no-ball for height after being referred to the third-umpire. The batsmen had also changed ends. However, only the penalty run for the no-ball was counted and not the single taken by Dhoni to reach the other end even as Ravindra Jadeja faced the next ball. Nishad Pai Vaidya looks into the laws and determines why that single wasn’t counted.

 

Were the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) denied a single during their Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 game against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at the Eden Gardens? The scorecards show that Chennai scored 154 for five in their 20 overs, but could it have been 155? During the last over of the Chennai innings, MS Dhoni had played a high full-toss from Umesh Yadav. The ball was caught at third-man. But it was referred and ultimately called a no-ball. Although Dhoni crossed over to complete a single as it was taken by the fielder, it wasn’t credited to the overall total. The question is: Why wasn’t it counted in the total?

 

Let us revisit the events again. At 151 for four in 19.4 overs, Umesh ran in to bowl the fifth ball. It was a high full-toss and Dhoni tried to pull it, but a top-edge flew to third-man, where the catch was taken.  Dhoni seemed to have reached the non-striker’s end after crossing Ravindra Jadeja as the catch was pouched. The umpires then conferred for the height of the delivery. It was given a no-ball for height and two runs were credited to Chennai’s total on the television screens: It showed 153 in 19.4 overs. Jadeja took strike and two runs were scored off the last two balls and the ultimate score was only 154. This meant that the single taken off the no-ball wasn’t counted.

 

Since the batsmen crossed and Dhoni appeared to have touched the non-striker’s end, shouldn’t the single be counted? According to the Marylebourne Cricket Club’s (MCC’s) Laws of Cricket, the ball doesn’t become dead on the call of the no-ball. But in this case, the no-ball wasn’t called immediately and the umpires approached each other. It was only confirmed by the third-umpire after some time. Even then, one may still argue it wasn’t a dead ball.

 

 

 

However, as Mohandas Menon, the famed statistician, tweeted that according to a new law, only the run for the no-ball is counted and not for the single taken when the ball is referred. This is a guideline in place but it does have its roots in the basic laws and we must examine them for greater clarity. The law states that the ball ceases to be in play as soon as the batsman is dismissed. Plus, it also says that the umpire may deem it to be a dead ball if the fielding team and the batsmen feel that it isn’t in play. Thus, in this case, the moment the catch was taken, the umpires and the batsmen may have deemed that the ball was dead as there was a possibility of Dhoni being dismissed there. Which is why that single was not counted even though the batsmen exchanged ends.

 

(Nishad Pai Vaidya is a Correspondent with CricketCountry and anchor for the site’s YouTube Channel. His Twitter handle is @nishad_45)