Joe Root © Getty Images
Joe Root © Getty Images

Joe Root scored 180 against Australia and an unbeaten 200 against Sri Lanka in two consecutive Test innings at Lord’s, thereby becoming the first player in the history of the game to hit two scores in excess of 150 in consecutive innings at Lord’s. Bharath Seervi presents this remarkable achievement by Root, and other milestones related to it.


English batsman Joe Root scored his maiden double century in Test cricket in the first match against Sri Lanka at the Lord’s cricket stadium in London on June 13, 2014. He scored an unbeaten 200 off 298 balls that included 16 fours.


In Joe Root’s previous Test inning at Lord’s, he scored 180 against Australia in the Ashes 2013. With this, he has achieved a remarkable feat in Test Cricket. He became the first player in the history of the game to score two consecutive scores in excess of 150 at Lord’s, known as Mecca of Cricket.


On Day 1 of the test, when he reached his century he became only eighth player to score 2 consecutive test centuries at Lord’s. The table below lists those players.


Players with centuries in two or more consecutive Test innings at Lord’s


Consecutive 100s Batsman 1st 2nd 3rd
Three Sir Jack Hobbs 107 vs Aus, 1912 211 vs SA, 1924 119 vs Aus, 1926
Michael Vaughan 103 vs WI, 2004 101* vs WI, 2004 120 vs Ban, 2005


Consecutive 100s Batsman 1st 2nd
Two Wally Hammond 140 vs NZ, 1937 240 vs Aus, 1938
George Headley 106 vs Eng, 1939 107 vs Eng, 1939
Allan Lamb 110 vs WI, 1984 107 vs SL, 1984
Graham Gooch 333 vs Ind, 1990 123 vs Ind, 1990
Dilip Vengsarkar 157 vs Eng, 1982 126* vs Eng, 1986
Joe Root 180 vs Aus, 2013 200* vs SL, 2014


Root, in fact, scored more than 175 in two consecutive Test innings at Lord’s. He is the first to do so at Lord’s. Prior to him, 13 other batsmen have achieved the feat on different grounds. The table below provides the details.


Players with more than 175 runs in two consecutive Test innings at a particular venue


Batsman Venue 1st 2nd
Sir Don Bradman Leeds, England ** 334 vs Eng, 1930 304 vs Eng, 1934
Sir Don Bradman The Oval, England 232 vs Eng, 1930 244 vs Eng, 1934
George Headley Kingston, West Indies 223 vs Eng, 1930 270* vs Eng, 1935
Sir Don Bradman Brisbane, Australia 187 vs Eng, 1946 185 vs Ind, 1947
Sir Len Hutton The Oval, England 206 vs NZ, 1949 202* vs WI, 1950
Sir Frank Worrell Nottingham, England ** 261 vs Eng, 1950 191* vs Eng, 1957
Dennis Amiss The Oval, England 183 vs Pak, 1974 203 vs WI, 1976
Qasim Umar Faisalabad, Pakistan 210 vs Ind, 1984 206 vs SL, 1985
Richie Richardson Georgetown, West Indies 194 vs Ind, 1989 182 vs Aus, 1991
Gary Kirsten Durban, South Africa 275 vs Eng, 1999 180 vs SL, 2000
Sachin Tendulkar Nagpur, India 201* vs Zim, 2000 176 vs Zim, 2002
Marvan Atapattu Bulawayo, Zimbabwe ** 216* vs Zim, 1999 249 vs Zim, 2004
Kumar Sangakkara Colombo (SSC), Sri Lanka 185 vs Pak, 2006 287 vs SA, 2006
Joe Root Lord’s, England 180 vs Aus, 2013 200* vs SL, 2014

** denotes that the player achieve the feat in an away ground


No batsman scored three consecutive 175+ scores at any venue. Mohammad Yousuf came very close to doing so at Lahore in Pakistan. He scored 223 against England, 173 against India and 192 against the West Indies between 2005 and 2006.


Additional Record:


Joe Root scored 182, 236 and 179 in three consecutive innings in First Class Cricket in 2013. He became only the fourth batsmen in the history of First Class cricket to score three consecutive scores over 175. The first three were WG Grace (344, 177 and 318 not out in 1876), Clem Hill (176, 205 and 185 in 1909-10) and Cheteshwar Pujara (302 not out, 189 and 176 in 2008).


(Bharath Seervi is a cricket statistician who is obsessed with digging numbers, facts and records related to the game. An active member of Society of Cricket Statisticians of India, he blogs at He can be followed on Twitter at and on Facebook at