Jagmohan Dalmiya (left) was the president of ICC from 1997 till 2000, Sharad Pawar (right) held the post from 2010 to 2012 © Getty Images
Jagmohan Dalmiya (left) was the president of ICC from 1997 till 2000, Sharad Pawar (right) held the post from 2010 to 2012 © Getty Images


After Sharad Pawar and Jagmohan Dalmiya, N Srinivasan gets ready to take control of the International Cricket Council (ICC), writes Nishad Pai Vaidya.


N Srinivasan, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) strongman is now the head-honcho of the apex body of world cricket. Despite the Supreme Court ousting him from the helm in India, Srinivasan had no real hurdles in being the ICC Chairman. It is yet another example of the BCCI’s clout and might in world cricket, centred around Srinivasan. Srinivasan has not only strengthened India’s position in world cricket, but his own.


Srinivasan follows Jagmohan Dalmiya and Sharad Pawar as Indians who have gone on to take big posts in the ICC. Both Dalmiya and Pawar were Presidents, but with the new power change coming in, Srinivasan becomes the chairman. Just before Dalmiya took over, the President’s post was actually called the chairman. It was changed thereafter and the chairman comes into the equation now. Alan Isaac will now make way for Mustafa Kamal from Bangladesh as the ICC President.



Dalmiya was the president from 1997 to 2000, at a time when Indian cricket was growing in financial might. In fact, he was the mastermind behind India’s rise and money coming into the sport in the country. His tenure saw a shift in the balance of power for India as they now made it clear that they were strong players on the world stage.


Though Dalmiya’s exit from the ICC wasn’t happy, he remained strong on the Indian front and further strengthened the board’s position in world cricket. By the time Pawar’s faction came into the BCCI, the platform was set for them and his time saw a consolidation of power. It was only too evident during various points with the BCCI getting its way on certain aspects. Pawar later came in as ICC President in 2010 and held the post for two years. It was a phase which was challenging on the cricketing front with numerous matters such as the Decision Review System (DRS), the spot-fixing controversy coming to the fore.


However, Srinivasan’s rise has been very different. He has literally muscled his way through with the Big Three taking control of the ICC in a new power sharing formula. It is quite fascinating that the other ICC members have acceded to the biggest player’s demands. But, it is just a sign of the times we live in.


(Nishad Pai Vaidya is a Correspondent with CricketCountry and anchor for the site’s YouTube Channel. His Twitter handle is @nishad_45