MI and KKR have not faced each other in qualifiers of IPL yet © BCCI
MI and KKR have not faced each other in Qualifier 2 of IPL yet © BCCI

1st instance of Mumbai Indians (MI) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) clashing in Qualifier 2 match of Indian Premier League (IPL). MI have played 5 matches in qualifying final stage in IPL history while KKR has played 2; however, they never clashed in this stage of the tournament. They had once clashed in an Eliminator, in 2011, where MI beat KKR by 4 wickets by chasing 148 in only 19.2 overs. Additionally, MI are the only team to beat KKR twice in the league stage of this edition of the tournament. FULL CRICKET SCORECARD: MI vs KKR, Qualifier 2

0 number of times table topper won the title whenever they had to play second qualifying final match in the playoffs. The playoffs rule started in 2011 edition and 5 out of 6 times, teams, who ended up at top of the points table of league stage lost the first qualifying final match and had to play the second qualifying final. Irrespective of their result in that match for the table topper, they could not win the title. Moreover, only once the winner of second qualifying final has won the title and that happened in last edition when SRH beat RCB in the final.

Table topper


Result in 2nd qualifier

Result in final



RCB beat MI by 43 runs

RCB lost to CSK by 58 runs



DD lost to CSK by 86 runs

CSK lost to KKR by 5 wickets



Did not play

CSK lost to MI by 23 runs



KXIP beat CSK by 24 runs

KXIP lost to KKR by 3 wickets



CSL beat RCB by 3 wickets

CSK lost to MI by 41 runs



GL lost to SRH by 4 wickets

SRH beat RCB by 8 runs

2 times MI have played Qualifier 2, in 2011 against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), which they lost by 43 runs and in 2013 against Rajasthan Royals (RR), which they won by 4 wickets.

0 times KKR to play the Qualifier 2 of the tournament in past before this. They have played Qualifier 1 in 2012 against Delhi Daredevils (DD) and in 2014 against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). They won both matches. Since they had never won an Eliminator before 2017, they never played Qualifier 2.

7 wins each for KKR and MI in this IPL while chasing out of 10, the most by any team. The 2nd-best place is held by Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS), who has won 5 out of 7.

5 matches each played by KKR and MI batting first in this IPL. MI holds the better record of 3 wins while KKR have won only 2.

1 playoff match played by MI in playoffs at Chinnaswamy, Bengaluru in past, while KKR have the experience of playing twice. MI’s only playoff match here was in 2012, against Chennai Super Kings (CSK); they lost by 38 runs. KKR’s last match at this venue was two days back against SRH, which they won by 7 wickets. They had also played in 2014, in the final of the tournament: they beat KXIP by 3 wickets.

23.16 batting average of Gautam Gambhir against MI in IPL, the worst for him against any opponent barring Kochi Tuskers Kerala (KTK). He has played only twice KTK and scored 3. Against MI, he has scored 337 runs; despite his poor average and he is the highest run-getter from KKR against MI.

8.1 average scoring rate at Chinnaswamy while batting second, more than 7.26 by sides batting first in this IPL. Moreover, teams batting first have won 3 times, while sides chasing have won 4. The average score at Bengaluru batting first is 145 and for batting second is 162.

16 wickets each for Lasith Malinga and Sunil Narine while playing against each other. Malinga scalped these wickets in 14 innings and Narine in 11.

45.67 bowling average of Narine at Chinnaswamy, his 2nd-worst at any venue of India in IPL history after Chepauk, where he averages 48. Narine has bowled 16 overs at Bengaluru but picked only 3 for 137.

5 wickets needed for Narine to complete 100 wickets in IPL. He will become the 11th player to reach this mark and 3rd overseas, after Malinga (153) and Dwayne Bravo (122). Narine will also become the 3rd player to take 100 wickets for the a single franchise after Malinga (153) and Harbhajan Singh (127), both for MI.

48.86 batting average of Rohit Sharma against KKR in IPL with 684 runs at a strike rate of 138.74. This is best average against any opponent with 5-match cut-off.

3 catches needed for Manish Pandey to touch the 50- mark in IPL. He will become the 9th player and 5th to achieve this feat for a single franchise in the tournament after Suresh Raina (75 for CSK), Virat Kohli (60 for RCB), AB de Villiers (50 for RCB) and Kieron Pollard (67 for MI).

1 catch needed for Rohit to complete 50 catches for MI in IPL. He has taken 71 catches in IPL.

13 runs needed for Rohit to touch 3,000-run mark in IPL for MI. He will become the first batsman from his team achieve this landmark. Rohit will also become the 5th player to touch this milestone mark for a single franchise after Kohli (3,016 for RCB), Raina (3,669 for CSK) and Chris Gayle (3,163 for RCB).

3 wickets needed for Umesh Yadav to complete 50 wickets for KKR. He will become the 2nd bowler to do so after Narine. Umesh will also become the 7th Indian pacer to do this for a single franchise in IPL after Siddharth Trivedi (65 for RR), Vinay Kumar (72 for RCB), Sandeep Sharma (71 for KXIP), RP Singh (51 for DC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (87 for SRH) and Mohit Sharma (57 for CSK).

3 wickets needed for Harbhajan to reach 150-wicket mark in T20s for MI. He has currently 147 wickets for MI in T20s — 127 in IPL and 20 in Champions League T20. He will become the first Indian to achieve this feat and second overall after Malinga (178 for MI in T20s).