Home > Features > Facts and figures >

Yusuf Pathan and IPL’s 2,000-run club

Yusuf Pathan became the third fastest batsmen to reach 2,000 runs in IPL history © IANS
Yusuf Pathan became the third fastest batsmen to reach 2,000 runs in IPL history © IANS

Yusuf Pathan’s whirlwind innings of 72 off 22 deliveries against Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 has created a string of records. The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) batsman became the third fastest to reach 2,000 runs in IPL history. Bharath Seervi looks at various records that Yusuf entered due to his knock.

Fastest to 2,000 IPL Runs (Balls)

In course of his 22-ball 72 blitz, Yusuf Pathan crossed the 2,000-run mark in the Indian Premier League (IPL). He helped Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) finish second in the IPL 7 Points Table and play in Qualifier 1. Yusuf reached his 2,000 runs in IPL in 1,353 deliveries. Only two batsmen have reached that landmark in lesser deliveries. Virender Sehwag was the fastest to reach in 1,211 deliveries. Chris Gayle reached the milestone in 1,251 deliveries. Here is the list of the fastest batsmen, in terms of balls, to complete 2,000 runs in IPL:

Balls Player
1,211 Virender Sehwag
1,251 Chris Gayle
1,353 Yusuf Pathan
1,389 Shane Watson
1,446 MS Dhoni
1,451 Suresh Raina
1,452 AB de Villiers
1,455 Adam Gilchrist
1,555 Gautam Gambhir
1,563 Rohit Sharma
1,610 Robin Uthappa
1,614 Dinesh Karthik
1,626 Shikhar Dhawan
1,647 Virat Kohli
1,667 Sachin Tendulkar
1,716 Rahul Dravid
1,806 Jacques Kallis

Fastest to 2,000 IPL Runs (Innings)

Despite being the third fastest in terms of balls, Yusuf could only come in at 15th and last place innings wise. He took 95 innings to get to his 2,000 runs. There are two batsmen who are tied at 75 innings and 76 innings. Gayle tops the innings list with only 48. Sachin Tendulkar reached 2,000 runs in IPL in his 63rd innings. Here is the list of the fastest batsmen, in terms of innings, to complete 2,000 runs in IPL:

Innings Player
48 Chris Gayle
63 Sachin Tendulkar
64 Shane Watson
68 Gautam Gambhir
69 Suresh Raina
70 Virender Sehwag
74 Shikhar Dhawan
75 MS Dhoni/Rahul Dravid
76 Jacques Kallis/AB de Villiers
77 Rohit Sharma
78 Adam Gilchrist
79 Virat Kohli
88 Robin Uthappa
93 Dinesh Karthik
95 Yusuf Pathan

Chronological order of batsmen reaching 2,000 runs in IPL

Let us have a look at all the batsmen who have reached the 2,000-run landmark in IPL chronologically. Suresh Raina was the first batsman to do so in IPL 2012. That was quickly followed by Gautam Gambhir and Tendulkar in the same season. A total of eight players got to the milestone in IPL 2013. In IPL 2014, six more batsmen have gone past that record.

Player Date
Suresh Raina April 20, 2012 vs Kolkata in his 69th inning and 1,451st ball
Gautam Gambhir May 16, 2012 vs Mumbai in his 68th inning and 1,555th ball
Sachin Tendulkar May 20, 2012 vs Rajasthan in his 63rd inning and 1,667th ball
Rohit Sharma April 9, 2013 vs Delhi in his 77th inning and 1,563rd ball
Jacques Kallis April 11, 2013 vs Bangalore in his 76th inning and 1,806th ball
Chris Gayle April 16, 2013 vs Delhi in his 48th inning and 1,251st ball
Virender Sehwag April 21, 2013 vs Mumbai in his 70th inning and 1,211th ball
MS Dhoni April 25, 2013 vs Hyderabad in his 75th inning and 1,446th ball
Virat Kohli April 29, 2013 vs Rajasthan in his 79th innings and 1,647th ball
Rahul Dravid May 5, 2013 vs Pune in his 75th innings and 1,716th ball
Adam Gilchrist May 14, 2013 vs Bangalore in his 78th innings and 1,455th ball
Robin Uthappa April 19, 2014 vs Delhi in his 88th innings and 1,610th ball
Shikhar Dhawan May 8, 2014 vs Rajasthan in his 74th innings and 1,626th ball
Shane Watson May 13, 2014 vs Chennai in his 64th innings and 1,389th ball
AB de Villiers May 18, 2014 vs Chennai in his 76th innings and 1,452nd ball
Dinesh Karthik May 19, 2014 vs Punjab in his 93rd innings and 1,614th ball
Yusuf Pathan May 24, 2014 vs Hyderabad in his 95th innings and 1,353rd ball

(Bharath Seervi is a cricket statistician who is obsessed with digging numbers, facts and records related to the game. An active member of Society of Cricket Statisticians of India, he blogs at www.cricketseervistats.blogspot.com. He can be followed on Twitter at www.twitter.com/SeerviBharath and on Facebook at www.facebook.com/SeerviCricket)

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 30, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Abu Dhabi

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 2, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Cuttack

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 3, 2014 (09:00 IST)   at Khulna

South Africa tour of Australia, 2014

Nov 5, 2014 (14:05 IST)   at Adelaide

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 6, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Ahmedabad


West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 15, 2014  at Ahmedabad

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 7, 2014  at Bengaluru

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 30, 2014  at Hyderabad

Match cancelled

South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 27, 2014  at Hamilton

No result

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Oct 25, 2014  at Dhaka

Bangladesh won by 3 wkts


Pakistan vs Australia, 2nd Test: Australia's practice session


Tendulkar provides teaser on upcoming book

Rohit Sharma gave a fantastic account of himself: Sanjay Bangar

Yuvraj Singh flays media for twisting statements on future in international cricket

India A beat Sri Lanka by 88 runs in tour match; Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Karn Sharma shine

Kevin Pietersen saga: Stuart Broad, James Anderson saddened by bullying claims

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: Rohit Sharma or Ajinkya Rahane — who should open for India?

Australia Australia tour of UAE 2014 Australia vs Pakistan Australia vs Pakistan 2014 Central Zone Duleep Trophy Duleep Trophy 2014-15 India Pakistan Pakistan vs Australia Pakistan vs Australia 2014 South Zone South Zone vs Central Zone Sri Lanka Sri Lanka tour of India 2014

West Indies crisis: Trinidad and Tobago condemns West Indies’ pullout from India tour

MS Dhoni told me there’s nothing called ‘lucky’ or ‘unlucky’: Pankaj Singh

All-India PSU T20 Tournament: Oriental Insurance defeat HPCL

Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in favour of Najam Sethi as ICC President

Justice Mudgal Committee report on IPL spot-fixing to be submitted on November 3

Mythbusting — the claim that playing for a weaker batting side handicaps a batsman has no basis

Younis Khan’s ban: why the ICC is justified

KL Rahul could be opening option for India’s tour to Australia

Highest identical scores in both innings of a Test

Younis Khan — perhaps Pakistan’s greatest batsman ever

Fan of the Day

Niharika Shah

Niharika Shah

678 Posts | 6 Fans

Video Highlights: Younis Khan century during Pakistan vs Australia 1st Test at Dubai

India A vs Sri Lanka: Fringe players look to impress

NGOs pursue education for all

Dance Basanti from Ungli: Put on your dancing shoes and practice the Basanti move!

Weight Loss Tip #59: Eat oranges to lose weight

Sensex surges 150 points in early trade to regain 27,000-mark

PricewaterhouseCoopers partners Google to offer business solutions to clients

Google X Lab working on nanoparticles to help detect diseases early

Priyanka Chopra has the best no make-up selfie on Instagram, think fans!

Lisa Haydon: I slept off midway while watching the original Shaukeen!

International programme in Animal Husbandry

Also on cricketcountry.com

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here