HomeSeries India in South Africa 2013

South Africa vs India, 3rd ODI, India in South Africa 2013

Commentary

No result | South Africa Vs India Live Score, 3rd ODI

South Africa (as expected) win the ODI series and it is now time for the Tests. Unfortunately, there are only two Tests and the first will start on the 18th of December at the Wanderers in Johannesburg. Not much time for the visitors to adjust to the red cherry though, with only a two day practise game scheduled against a South Africa Invitation XI, starting from Tuesday. Do join us for all the action at Johannesburg. For now, cheers and bye..
Dhoni: 'We were positive about the chase, but we had not chased well in the first two matches as well. This was a good wicket though. We got a few positives out of the game, we got an early wicket and exposed thier middle order a bit, until AB came to bat. We need to adjust to the conditions, playing ODIs first helped us a bit. We got used to the pace and bounce on these pitches. Need to do well in the Tests. It is always good for tall bowlers to bowl well on these pitches (Ishant). He was expensive in the Australian series, but he worked hard with the bowling coach and played well in a domestic game as well. SA are a fantastic side. They have Kallis playing as an all-rounder and that helps them to play 5 bowlers. Some of their batsmen are exceptionally talented as well.'
de Kock: 'Nice to get one or two trophies, but I will keep working on my game. I am quite happy and relaxed. More than my performance, I am happy that we won the series. I was just trying to survive and get through the opening period of play. I do not know what this has done to my career, this is just my second series win with the team.'
Quinton de Kock is the MoS. He became the youngest South African player to score 4 ODI hundreds and also became the only player to hit 3 consecutive hundreds in a 3-match ODI series.
The chase could have been interesting for both teams as it could have gone either way. India would have felt that they had a chance to chase this down on a wicket that looked very good for batsmen. South Africa, on the other hand, would have fancied themselves to complete a whitewash.
So that means South Africa win the 3-match series 2-0. There was a bit of rain forecast for the evening and the rain, after a thick cloud build-up just before the close of first innings, came down at the innings break and refused to relent. It was on and off for a while before settling down nicely. South Africa posted an excellent score on the board courtesy hundreds from Quiton de Kock and AB de Villiers. The duo batted sensibly to resurrect their side from 28/3 and added over 150 runs for the 4th wicket. Ishant Sharma was the biggest positive for India. He bagged 4 wickets for 40 runs in his 10 overs, figures which will give some confidence to him as he was put under serious pressure due to poor performances in recent times.
20:08 Local Time, 18:08 GMT, 23:38 IST: Official now, match has been called off.
20:00 Local Time, 18:00 GMT, 23:30 IST: The rain is quite steady now and the chances of a resumption look bleak.
19:45 Local Time, 17:45 GMT, 23:15 IST: The rain has returned. That inspection will have to wait now. Covers coming on.
19:30 Local Time, 17:30 GMT, 23:00 IST: The umpires have decided to have another look at the ground in 20 minutes time. We have already lost 45 minutes and are set to lose more overs as the time whiles away.
19:25 Local Time, 17:25 GMT, 22:55 IST: The covers are coming off. The umpires have finished their inspection as well. We should know the re-start time in a while.
19:15 Local Time, 17:15 GMT, 22:45 IST: Scratch the previous update.. It has started to rain once again...and it has stopped again. This is frustrating for eveyone.
19:05 Local Time, 17:05 GMT, 22:35 IST: It was raining a little earlier but looks like it has stopped now. The cut-off time for a 20-over game should be around 20:40 - 20:50 Local Time but it's not official though.
18:50 Local Time, 16:50 GMT, 22:20 IST: The see-saw battle continues, rain has stopped and goodluck to the ground staff. Quite a bit of water around.
18:35 Local Time, 16:35 GMT, 22:05 IST: Meanwhile, the rain has come down again but is not as heavy as it was earlier. We will start losing overs from 18:45.

Match details

Toss : South Africa won the toss and elected to bat first

Man of the Series : Quinton de Kock

Umpires : Johanes Cloete (South Africa) and Richard Illingworth (England)

TV umpire : Shaun George (South Africa)

Match referee : Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)

Teams

South Africa : Quinton de Kock(wk), Henry Davids, Hashim Amla, Jean-Paul Duminy, AB de Villiers(c), David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Imran Tahir, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

India : Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav.

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 20, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Kolkata

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 22, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Dubai

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 22, 2014 (19:00 IST)   at Cuttack

South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 24, 2014 (03:00 IST)   at Mount Maunganui

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Oct 25, 2014 (09:00 IST)   at Dhaka

More

South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 21, 2014  at Mount Maunganui

South Africa won by 6 wkts

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 17, 2014  at Dharamsala

India won by 59 runs

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 14, 2014  at Visakhapatnam

Match cancelled

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 12, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

Australia won by 1 run

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 11, 2014  at Delhi

India won by 48 runs

Photos

Pakistan vs Australia, 1st Test at Dubai

Videos

AB de Villiers praises team after win in 1st ODI

Saeed Ajmal’s action to be assessed after two more weeks of remedial work under Saqlain Mushtaq

Pakistan vs Australia, 1st Test, Day 1 highlights: Younis Khan’s ton, Mitchell Johnson’s riveting spell

Steve O’Keefe and other Test cricketers with apostrophes in their surnames

Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Geoff Marsh and other Father-Son trios to have played Test cricket

Pakistan vs Australia 2014: Why did Mohammad Hafeez go for a shocking review?

Australia Australia tour of UAE 2014 Australia vs Pakistan Australia vs Pakistan 2014 India New Zealand New Zealand vs South Africa New Zealand vs South Africa 2014 Pakistan Pakistan vs Australia Pakistan vs Australia 2014 South Africa South Africa tour of New Zealand 2014 South Africa vs New Zealand South Africa vs New Zealand 2014

Saeed Ajmal’s action to be assessed after two more weeks of remedial work under Saqlain Mushtaq

Nepal to host world’s first blind women’s cricket series

All India Public Sector Cricket Tournament to be held in Mumbai

Mitchell Johnson: We need to use new ball well tomorrow

Pakistan vs Australia 2014: Younis Khan proud at scoring record 25th Test ton

Joginder Sharma: When an over eclipses a career

South Africa vs New Zealand 2014: Vital for Brendon McCullum to find form quickly

Younis Khan: First Pakistani and 12th overall to score a century against all 9 Test nations

Pakistan vs Australia, 1st Test, Day 1 highlights: Younis Khan’s ton, Mitchell Johnson’s riveting spell

Younis Khan becomes first Pakistan batsman to score a ton against each of the Test-playing nations

Fan of the Day

Suraj Gowda

Suraj Gowda

642 Posts | 9 Fans

Virat Kohli's Family Meets Anushka Sharma

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here