HomeSeries Pakistan vs Sri Lanka in UAE, 2013-14

Pakistan vs Sri Lanka, 2nd ODI, Pakistan vs Sri Lanka in UAE, 2013-14


Sri Lanka won by 2 wkts | Pakistan Vs Sri Lanka Live Score, 2nd ODI

So that is the end of this thrilling cricket game. Join us back on Sunday for the third ODI at 15:00 Local Time. Take care and goodbye!
For a moment, I was confused as to who was the Man of the Match. Got my answer at the very end though.
Mathews: 'The amount of talent we've got is unbelievable. Sangakkara and Chandinal set the cahse up for us. Malinga and Kulasekara bowled well in the end but we couldn't quite stop the runs. I am glad that we pulled it off in the end We need to play positive cricket. Till the last ball is bowled it's not over. Looking forward to the next game.'
Angelo Mathews is the Man of the Match for his knock of 47.
Misbah: 'Looking at the wicket, I think we got a really good score. At one stage we were really in control of the game but one or two bad overs cost us the game. Before the series I said that they are a good team and it's game on! We are looking forward to the game on Sunday.'
Phew! An exciting game of cricket in the end as I promised at the start. Angelo Mathews has justified his decision to bowl first and Sri Lanka will be very happy with their effort today. They started the chase well before both the openers perished run-out. Sangakkara and Chandimal steadied the ship with a 94-run 3rd wicket partnership but Junaid triggered a mini collapse as he knocked over three Sri Lankan batsmen. Kulasekara raised the tempo while Mathews was just playing second fiddle to him. The duo shared a 57-run stand before Sri Lanka panicked again but in the end, they held their nerve to clinch a thrilling win. So that helps the visitors level the 5-match series 1-1 with 3 games to go. Misbah-ul-Haq wasn't happy with the effort from his side as they let Sri Lanka off the hook from a winning position.
49.4 Shahid Afridi to Sachithra Senanayake 4
FOUR, It's all over, Sri Lanka have won! That is a terrific hit from Senanayake I must say. Quicker delivery outside off stump, with backward point and third man inside the ring, Senanayake late cuts it very well and splits the fielders perfectly to help Sri Lanka square the series 1-1
49.3 Shahid Afridi to Sachithra Senanayake 0
no run, short leg-spinner outside off stump, cut straight to point. A crucial dot-ball
Afridi is bringing the field in.
49.2 Shahid Afridi to Sachithra Senanayake 2
2 runs, meanwhile, Senanayake can bat! Can't he? Full and wide outside off stump, Senanayake drives it square of the wicket on the off-side and gets Sri Lanka closer to a fine win
Sachithra Senanayake, right handed bat, comes to the crease
49.1 Shahid Afridi to Angelo Mathews W
out Caught by Ahmed Shehzad!! Oh my word! What a start to the over! Is Afridi going to win it for Pakistan? It was not the best of deliveries at this stage of the game, short delivery on the stumps, Mathews pulls hard but hits it straight to mid-wicket who didn't have to move an inch. Hang on, we could be in for a twist here. Mathews c Ahmed Shehzad b Afridi 47(44) [4s-2]
Shahid Afridi [5.0-0-40-1] is back into the attack
Well, well! Boom, Boom to defend the final over.
End of over 49, 12 runs (2 1 1nb 1 1 4 1 )
SL: 281/7
Angelo Mathews - 47(43) This over: 9 runs
Dimuth Karunaratne - 16(12) This over: 2 runs
Junaid Khan
(10.0 - 0 - 52 - 3)
48.6 Junaid Khan to Angelo Mathews 1
1 run, length delivery following Mathews as he makes room, driven down to long-on, Karunaratne was keen for the second but he's sent back

Match details

Toss : Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to field

Umpires : Richard Illingworth (England) and Ahsan Raza (Pakistan)

TV umpire : Johanes Cloete (South Africa)

Match referee : David Boon (Australia)


Pakistan : Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Misbah-ul-Haq(c), Umar Akmal(wk), Shahid Afridi, Bilawal Bhatti, Sohail Tanvir, Saeed Ajmal, Junaid Khan.

Sri Lanka : Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kushal Janith Perera, Kumar Sangakkara(wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews(c), Dimuth Karunaratne, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Seekkuge Prasanna, Sachithra Senanayake, Lasith Malinga.

Zimbabwe Triangular Series, 2014

Aug 29, 2014 (13:00 IST)   at Harare

India tour of England 2014

Aug 30, 2014 (15:00 IST)   at Nottingham

Pakistan tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Aug 30, 2014 (10:00 IST)   at Dambulla

Zimbabwe Triangular Series, 2014

Aug 31, 2014 (13:00 IST)   at Harare

India tour of England 2014

Sep 2, 2014 (15:00 IST)   at Birmingham


Zimbabwe Triangular Series, 2014

Aug 27, 2014  at Harare

South Africa won by 7 wkts

Bangladesh Tour of West Indies, 2014

Aug 27, 2014  at Basseterre, St Kitts

No result

India tour of England 2014

Aug 27, 2014  at Cardiff

India won by 133 runs

Pakistan tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Aug 26, 2014  at Hambantota

Sri Lanka won by 77 runs

Zimbabwe Triangular Series, 2014

Aug 25, 2014  at Harare

Australia won by 198 runs


Don Bradman's ducks


Mitchell Marsh: This is a big opportunity for me

India vs England Live Cricket Score 2nd ODI at Cardiff: India win by 113 runs by D/L method

Australia vs South Africa Live Cricket Score, Zimbabwe Tri Series 2014 Match 2 at Harare: South Africa win by 7 wickets

Don Bradman and his ducks

India vs England ODI series 2014: Why an Indian win will be surprising

MS Dhoni taking on England in England and BCCI at home!

Australia Australia and South Africa in Zimbabwe 2014 England England vs India England vs India 2014 India India tour of England 2014 India vs England India vs England 2014 Pakistan Pakistan vs Sri Lanka Pakistan vs Sri Lanka 2014 South Africa Sri Lanka Sri Lanka vs Pakistan Zimbabwe Zimbabwe Triangular Series 2014

Live Cricket Score: West Indies vs Bangladesh, only T20I at Basseterre

Live Scorecard: West Indies vs Bangladesh, only T20I at Basseterre

Live Streaming: West Indies vs Bangladesh, only T20I at Basseterre

Ranjan Madugalle completes 500 international matches as match referee

India romp to massive 133-run win by D/L method against England in 2nd ODI to lead series 1-0

West Indies vs Bangladesh, only T20I at Basseterre: Match called off after rain, power outage

Ice Bucket Challenge inspires Shane Warne, Andrew Symonds and Salman Butt to come up with innovative ideas!

West Indies vs Bangladesh, only T20I at Basseterre Preview: Hosts will look to maintain clean slate

10 little known facts about Lasith Malinga

AB de Villiers’ ton for South Africa against Australia in Zimbabwe Triangular series 2014 another testament to his place as a modern great

Fan of the Day

Niharika Shah

Niharika Shah

664 Posts | 6 Fans

Funny cricket video

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here