HomeSeries South Africa tour of Sri Lanka 2013

Sri Lanka vs South Africa, 3rd ODI, South Africa tour of Sri Lanka 2013


South Africa won by 56 runs | Sri Lanka Vs South Africa Live Score, 3rd ODI

So South Africa finally manage to win an ODI in Sri Lanka against the hosts. It also keeps the series alive, which should only mean good news. On that note, we sign off from the commentary desk. The next match is on the 28th of this month at the same venue. Do join us for that, until then, this is Pradeep taking leave alongside the scorer, Bhanuprakash. Have a safe night. Tada!
AB: 'It's hard to explain how proud I'm of the guys. It wasn't an easy game. We've made a big step forward after today. Lopsy is a class performer and bowled exceptionally well today. Morne was quite aggressive today, he is the leader of the attack and set the standards upfront. Very irresponsible Cricket at times from us, a run-out and I take responsibility for that. I cost Faf his wicket.'
Mathews: 'Our bowlers did a brilliant job, except for the last three overs we did well. The batters have to step up. Thisara was batting on a different strip, in the end it was too much for him. I got out at the wrong time, with Thisara at the other end I should have hung out, but it was unfortunate. Unfortunately we kept losing wickets at the wrong time.'
David Miller: 'It was tough upfront. The wicket was really slow and it took time to adjust. Really don't know where the power comes from, work hard in the nets and then play my shots. Our plan was to go hard late on as we didn't have wickets in hand, should've gone a bit earlier.'
David Miller is named the MoM for his 85 off 72 balls. His innings turned the game.
South Africa finally taste victory in Lankan soil against the hosts since September 2nd, 1993. The bowlers made that that Sri Lanka struggled in the chase, Tsotsobe struck thrice to reduce them to 16/3. Mahela and Chandimal added useful runs but when they were reduced to 92/6, it looked all but over. Thisara had other ideas as he smashed 35 runs from one Peterson over, but the visitors held their nerve to close out the game.
End of over 44, 1 runs (1 W )
SL: 167/10
Ajantha Mendis - 0(2) This over: 0 runs
Rangana Herath - 12(33) This over: 1 runs
Jean-Paul Duminy
(9.2 - 1 - 23 - 1)
43.2 Jean-Paul Duminy to Ajantha Mendis W
out Caught by Tsotsobe!! Stunner from Tsotsobe. He has made up for the simple catch that he dropped early on. This was pitched up and on just outside off, Mendis gets forward and looks to go over cover, Tsotsobe moves across at backward point, dives to his right and takes a good catch. Ajantha Mendis c Tsotsobe b Duminy 0(2)
10 wickets down for SL. Out batsman is Ajantha Mendis. It is all over for SL.
43.1 Jean-Paul Duminy to Rangana Herath 1
1 run, flighted delivery and just outside off, Herath plays the reverse sweep and gets a single to short third man
End of over 43, 1 runs (W . . 1 W . )
SL: 166/9
Ajantha Mendis - 0(1) This over: 0 runs
Rangana Herath - 11(32) This over: 1 runs
Farhaan Behardien
(6.0 - 0 - 19 - 3)
42.6 Farhaan Behardien to Ajantha Mendis 0
no run, full and on the stumps, Mendis moves across and defends it
Ajantha Mendis, right handed bat, comes to the crease
42.5 Farhaan Behardien to Lasith Malinga W
out Bowled!! Poor shot from Malinga. This was the slower off-cutter from Behardien, Malinga swung hopelessly across the line and missed. The stumps take a beating and SA close in on their first win against Sri lanka in Sri Lanka since 1993. Malinga b Behardien 0(1)
3 wickets for Farhaan Behardien. Farhaan Behardien is on a roll.
42.4 Farhaan Behardien to Rangana Herath 1
1 run, full and outside off, Herath gets forward and drives it in the air, a couple of bounces and through to long off
42.3 Farhaan Behardien to Rangana Herath 0
no run, on a good length outside off and angling away, Herath pushes at that and misses
42.2 Farhaan Behardien to Rangana Herath 0
no run, full and angling across the left hander, Herath has an ugly swipe at that and misses
Lasith Malinga, right handed bat, comes to the crease

Match details

Toss : South Africa won the toss and elected to bat first

Umpires : Richard Kettleborough (England) and Ranmore Martinesz (Sri Lanka)

TV umpire : Rod Tucker (Australia)

Match referee : Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe)


Sri Lanka : Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara(wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews(c), Angelo Perera, Thisara Perera, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga.

South Africa : Alviro Petersen, Quinton de Kock(wk), AB de Villiers(c), Jean-Paul Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Farhaan Behardien, David Miller, Robin Peterson, Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Zimbabwe Triangular Series, 2014

Sep 4, 2014 (13:00 IST)   at Harare

India tour of England 2014

Sep 5, 2014 (15:00 IST)   at Leeds

Bangladesh Tour of West Indies, 2014

Sep 5, 2014 (19:30 IST)   at Kingstown, St Vincent

Zimbabwe Triangular Series, 2014

Sep 6, 2014 (13:00 IST)   at Harare

India tour of England 2014

Sep 7, 2014 (19:30 IST)   at Birmingham


Zimbabwe Triangular Series, 2014

Sep 2, 2014  at Harare

Australia won by 62 runs

India tour of England 2014

Sep 2, 2014  at Birmingham

India won by 9 wkts

Zimbabwe Triangular Series, 2014

Aug 31, 2014  at Harare

Zimbabwe won by 3 wkts

Pakistan tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Aug 30, 2014  at Dambulla

SL won by 7 wkts (D/L method)

India tour of England 2014

Aug 30, 2014  at Nottingham

India won by 6 wkts


India vs England, 4th ODI at Edgbaston


Misbah disppointed with Pakistan's performance

Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan complete comprehensive series win for India with 9-wicket win in 4th ODI

Mitchell Marsh records highest strike rate in an ODI innings for Australia against South Africa

N Srinivasan faces a two-month wait as Mudgal commission prepares final report

Norman Gordon passes away at 103

Ishant Sharma: 10 facts you need to know about the towering Indian paceman

Australia Australia and South Africa in Zimbabwe 2014 Australia vs Zimbabwe England England vs India England vs India 2014 India India tour of England 2014 India vs England India vs England 2014 Pakistan South Africa Zimbabwe Zimbabwe Triangular Series 2014 Zimbabwe vs Australia Zimbabwe vs Australia 2014

Alastair Cook vows to stay on as England captain despite ODI series loss against India

Ajinkya Rahane becomes first Indian opener to score an ODI hundred against England in England

VVS Laxman congratulates India on winning ODI series against England

Michael Clarke hamstring injury: Scan reveals some damage

Kevin Pietersen disgusted after cricket experts say England can’t win World Cup 2015

Cricket in Columbia: Rest of the World XI beat India XI

Sachin Tendulkar’s Playing It My Way: What cricket lovers would expect from his autobiography

Ajinkya Rahane strengthens his case to open in ODIs; but will Rohit Sharma’s return push him back to No 4?

India vs England 2014, 4th ODI: Highlights

38 entries from cricket’s obsolete lexicon

Fan of the Day

Suraj Gowda

Suraj Gowda

628 Posts | 7 Fans

Thilan Samaraweera finds an unusual way to get stumped

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here