HomeSeries Sri Lanka in Australia 2012-13

Australia vs Sri Lanka, 2nd T20I, Sri Lanka in Australia 2012-13


Sri Lanka won by 2 runs ( D/L method) | Australia Vs Sri Lanka Live Score, 2nd T20I

That ends Sri Lanka's tour of Australia. SL were whitewashed 0-3 in the Tests, but did really well to recover in the shorter formats. The ODI series was shared 2-2 while Australia lost the T20I series 0-2. We'll leave you with that. Bye bye!
Thisara Perera is the Man of the Match. He scored 35 in just 15 balls and also bowled that decisive last over.
A nail-biting game this. The revised target seemed to favour Australia but Sri Lanka's bowlers held their nerves and clinched the win. Bailey and Marsh got a few boundaries and took Australia to the last over. Glenn Maxwell hit consecutive fours and threatened to take the game away but he couldn't quite finish on a high.
More drama now. Glenn Maxwell is having a word with Mahela and Mathews as all the Sri Lankan players look on. The Australian players come into the ground to shake hands with the Sri Lankans but there is a war of words there too. Mahela, Wade and Warner are the men involved in the chat. Amidst all this, I have to remind you that Sri Lanka have won both the T20s in this tour.
End of over 15, 15 runs (2 W 2nb 1 4 4 1b )
AUS: 123/3
Glenn Maxwell - 8(3) This over: 8 runs
Shaun Marsh - 48(41) This over: 5 runs
Thisara Perera
(3.0 - 0 - 25 - 1)
14.6 Thisara Perera to Glenn Maxwell 1b
byes, 1 run, Perera holds his nerve and Sri Lanka win a thriller! He bowls a yorker length delivery outside off, Maxwell reaches out and looks to get bat on ball but misses it, they get only a bye and Sri Lanka celebrate quite wildly. Perera runs across towards Glenn Maxwell and gives him a piece of his mind. What a thrilling game we've had tonight!
4 from 1 ball needed
So many fielders having a word with Thisara Perera. Angelo, Malinga, Mahela are having a word with him. Glenn Maxwell is not impressed - he wants the game to go on. Angelo and Mahela have a few unpleasant words to say to Maxwell. It's all happening here!
14.5 Thisara Perera to Glenn Maxwell 4
FOUR, Maxwell! What a cameo he is playing! A low full toss outside off, Maxwell makes room again and slices it over backward point, almost a repeat of the previous shot and he gets another boundary
8 from 2 balls. Excitement all around. Tension all around!
14.4 Thisara Perera to Glenn Maxwell 4
FOUR, game not over yet! What a shot first ball. This was full and outside off, Maxwell makes room and slices it over point for four
14.3 Thisara Perera to Shaun Marsh 1
1 run, what a ball! Nothing much you can do as a batsman there, a perfect yorker and Marsh digs it to short cover, Perera runs across and needlessly throws at the bowler's end, luckily for him there was a fielder backing up
14.3 Thisara Perera to Shaun Marsh 3nb
no ball, 2 runs, all-action here! Perera bowls a high full toss and Marsh lofts it to long on, Kulasekara was the fielder there and he 'catches' it just inside the ropes but realises that he was over-balancing so he releases the ball at the last moment. It's a no ball for height, so no free hit
Glenn Maxwell, right handed bat, comes to the crease
The batsmen have crossed, so Shaun Marsh will be on strike.
14.2 Thisara Perera to George Bailey W
out Caught by K J Perera!! Bailey won't find the boundary, he finds the fielder. This was an opportunity missed - a full toss on the middle and leg, Bailey heaves across and finds deep mid wicket. A good knock from the skipper but has he done enough? George Bailey c K J Perera b Thisara Perera 45(36) [4s-4]
3 wickets down for AUS. Out batsman is George Bailey

Match details

Toss : Australia won the toss and elected to field

Umpires : Simon Fry (Aus) and John Ward (Aus)

TV umpire : Paul Reiffel (Aus)

Match referee : Javagal Srinath (Ind)


Australia : David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, George Bailey(c), Adam Voges, Matthew Wade(wk), Glenn Maxwell, James Faulkner, Mitchell Starc, Xavier Doherty, Ben Laughlin.

Sri Lanka : Kushal Janith Perera, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dinesh Chandimal(wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews(c), Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Akila Dananjaya Perera.

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 30, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Abu Dhabi

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 2, 2014 (13:30 IST)   at Cuttack

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 3, 2014 (09:00 IST)   at Khulna

South Africa tour of Australia, 2014

Nov 5, 2014 (14:05 IST)   at Adelaide

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 6, 2014 (13:30 IST)   at Ahmedabad


West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 15, 2014  at Ahmedabad

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 7, 2014  at Bengaluru

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 30, 2014  at Hyderabad

Match cancelled

South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 27, 2014  at Hamilton

No result

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Oct 25, 2014  at Dhaka

Bangladesh won by 3 wkts


Pakistan vs Australia, 2nd Test


Tendulkar provides teaser on upcoming book

Pakistan vs Australia 2014: Younis Khan’s double ton puts Pakistan on top against Australia at stumps on Day 2 of 2nd Test

Duleep Trophy 2014-15 final: Central Zone 214/4 at stumps; lead by 111 runs

Yuvraj Singh — have we seen the last of the man who won India three World Cups?

Younis Khan continues piling up records for Pakistan

KL Rahul could be opening option for India’s tour to Australia

Australia Australia tour of UAE 2014 Australia vs Pakistan Australia vs Pakistan 2014 Central Zone Duleep Trophy Duleep Trophy 2014-15 India Pakistan Pakistan vs Australia Pakistan vs Australia 2014 South Zone South Zone vs Central Zone Sri Lanka Sri Lanka tour of India 2014

WICB officials should visit India to minimize damage: Andy Roberts

Younis Khan: I want to be remembered as team-man

ICC World Cup 2015: New Zealand prime minister urges Indian fans to attend the tournament

Mohammad Yousuf: Muttiah Muralitharan would not have been allowed to bowl under current ICC rules

Mohammad Azharuddin’s son included in UP One-Day squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy

Don Bradman dismissed twice on the same day

Virat Kohli’s captaincy opportunities important in context of India’s succession plans

Rohit Sharma looks to strengthen career after an inconsistent year

Younis Khan equals Javed Miandad’s record of most 150+ scores by Pakistan batsman

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: Manish Pandey showing signs of fulfilling potential

Fan of the Day

Niharika Shah

Niharika Shah

678 Posts | 6 Fans

Video Highlights: Younis Khan century during Pakistan vs Australia 1st Test at Dubai

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here