Aaron Finch © Getty Images
Aaron Finch © Getty Images

Australia‘s 13-man squad was announced on Wednesday for their upcoming three-Twenty20 (T20I) series against Sri Lanka starting in Melbourne on February 17. It is a young squad with the likes of regular skipper, Steven Smith, and his deputy, David Warner, missing as they will be involved in the much-anticipated four-Test series against India. Aaron Finch will captain the side with James Faulkner, Adam Zampa and Travis Head having to step up in the absence of big guns of the team. On the other hand, wicketkeeper-batsman, Tim Paine, and Moises Henriques have got a look in the squad. The last T20I series between Australia and Sri Lanka went in favour of the former and they will be eager to replicate their success over the Island nation.

Trevor Hohns, interim national chief selector, said the squad was a mixture of youth and experience. “With Australia currently ranked No. 6 in this format and with a number of our frontline players preparing for the India Test series, we have chosen a squad with a good blend of experience combined with several younger players in an effort to improve our performance and therefore our ICC T20I ranking,” he said on Wednesday. “The influence of younger players in this squad also gives us the opportunity to look forward to the ICC World T20, which is being hosted here in Australia in 2020. Marcus Stoinis and his many records in during Australia vs New Zealand 1st ODI

“On Michael Klinger’s selection, he has been a very good player in this form of the game for some time now. He has a history of strong performances in T20I competitions in the UK and in the BBL, including the match-winning innings for the Perth Scorchers to secure this year’s BBL title”, he added.


Aaron Finch (c), Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Michael Klinger, Chris Lynn, Tim Paine (wk), Jhye Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.