Also on cricketcountry.com
Nottingham: Jul 12, 2013
Root chose not to challenge his decision, even though replays suggested he would have been reprieved, as technology indicated he had made no contact with the ball before being caught down the leg side by wicketkeeper Brad Haddin.
Next ball, Pakistani on-field umpire Aleem Dar initially gave Trott not out in reply to Australia’s lbw appeal.
Australia challenged his decision and South African third umpire Marais Erasmus overturned Dar’s original verdict despite the fact the side-on Hot Spot image of the dismissal, which might have confirmed whether Trott had in fact edged the ball first, was not available.
Angry England coach Andy Flower demanded an explanation from match referee Ranjan Madugalle, the International Cricket Council’s most senior official, over the lbw dismissal while bowler James Anderson called it “very frustrating.”
An ICC spokesman said Friday the global governing body “don’t have a comment to make, because this was an umpiring decision”.
Host broadcaster Sky explained the Hot Spot camera missed the Trott wicket as it was replaying Root’s exit a ball earlier. Images cannot be replayed and played at the same time.
Meanwhile the inventor of the Hot Spot system apologised for an “operator error”.
“Here is the absolute truth from our perspective in regard to the Trott incident,” Warren Brennan told ESPNcricinfo.
“It was operator error. My operator did not trigger the system in order to cater for the Trott delivery.
“Instead the operator sat on the Root delivery in order to offer a replay from the previous ball and did not realise until it was too late that he should have triggered the system for the Trott delivery as the priority.
“Simple mistake, something that anyone could have made but my Hot Spot operator has worked on the system since 2007 and to my knowledge this is the first serious mistake he has made.”
Hot Spot is provided by an independent company for both Sky and the ICC.
Dar seemed bewildered when told he had to give Trott out and the batsman himself was aghast and later the “Snickometer”, which is not part of the official review system, revealed a thin edge.
But neither this nor the square leg Hot Spot angle were available to Erasmus, who was able to view only shots picked up from behind the bowler’s arm, which showed no mark on the bat.
Normally the third umpire overturns a decision only if there is conclusive evidence of an error. England eventually reached 80 for two, a lead of 15 runs, at stumps on the second day.
But they left Trent Bridge convinced they should have been better placed after another contentious third umpire decision went against them.
“It was a shocking decision,” former England captain Bob Willis told Sky Sports television.
“It cost England dearly. That was a terrible decision and it may lose the game for England,” he added, calling Trott’s exit “staggeringly bad — unbelievable”.
The 49-year-old Erasmus is due to stand in the next two Ashes Tests and officiate as third umpire in the fourth.
Play Fantasy Cricket & Win
Cash Daily! Click here