India won their final game of the Asia Cup 2014 against Afghanistan © AFP
India won their final game of the Asia Cup 2014 against Afghanistan © AFP

Feb 25, 2014


Asia Cup 2014 tournament begins on February 25 with defending champions Pakistan taking on Sri Lanka in the opening game of the tournament at Fatullah. The tournament involves five teams: India, Afghanistan, the hosts Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.


A team will be awarded five points if they win a clash with a bonus point. If any side wins without a bonus point, they would get four points. If a match is tied or ends without any result, both the sides will get two points each. Bonus point will be awarded to a team that gets a run rate of 1.25 times of their opponents.

After their disastrous outings in South Africa and New Zealand, five-time Asia Cup champions India would hope for a turnaround under a new captain when they take on a troubled Bangladesh in their Asia Cup 2014 opener.


India have been playing overseas since December 2013 and they would be happy to return to familiar conditions which are not as challenging as they were in the last three months.


Many teams are missing key players in this tournament. While India will be without their captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Pakistan will be missing the services of lanky pacer Mohammad Irfan. Sri Lanka too will rue the absence of their dashing opener Tillakaratne Dilshan.


Tamim Iqbal, the explosive opening batsman for the hosts Bangladesh, is also out of the tournament due to strain in the neck.


Here’s the updated points table and team standings for Asia Cup 2014 tournament:


Teams Matches Won Lost Tied No Results Points
Sri Lanka 4 4 0 0 0 17
Pakistan 4 3 1 0 0 13
India 4 2 2 0 0 9
Afghanistan 4 1 3 0 0 4
Bangladesh 4 0 4 0 0 0


Asia Cup 2014 Schedule and Match Time Table here