Brendon McCullum scored a half-century for Chennai Super Kings © IANS
Brendon McCullum scored a half-century for Chennai Super Kings © IANS


By Shrikant Shankar


Apr 25, 2014


Chennai Super Kings (CSK) comprehensively beat Mumbai Indians (MI) by seven wickets in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 on April 25. Brendon McCullum‘s 71 guided Chennai in their run-chase of a target of 142 against Mumbai. Chennai won Match 13 of IPL 7 in 19 overs. McCullum shared a 57-run opening stand with Dwayne Smith, who scored a quick 29. Harbhajan Singh was Mumbai’s best bowler as he took two wickets.


This ensures that Chennai have won their third match in-a-row after four games. Defending champions Mumbai have now lost all their three matches. Chennai remain second in the IPL 2014 Points Table with six points. Mumbai are eighth and last with zero.


Dwayne Smith and McCullum began the run-chase for Chennai. Pragyan Ojha bowled the first over and it was a maiden. That was onlt the third maiden over of the IPL 2014. Captain Rohit Sharma wanted to mix things up as Zaheer Khan bowled from the other end. He only conceded only two runs in the over.


Mith struck the first boundary of the match with a six off Ojha over long-on in the third over. He then flat-batted another in the same region for the second six. Zaheer bowled slightly full and Smith smashed it back over the bowler for a six. McCullum wasn’t to be left behind as he struck two consecutive fours in the same over off Zaheer. Rohit was forced to bring in Lasith Malinga in the fifth over. Corey Anderson was brought in after that.


McCullum hit the first ball over extra-cover for a thumping four. Anderson followed that with a yorker and McCullum swung and missed. But the ball was just wide of the off-stump. McCullum was not affected as he cut a length delivery through cover for another four. McCullum then tried to go over mid-off, but Kieron Pollard managed to get his hand on that at full stretch. He couldn’t catch it though. McCullum then hit the last delivery of the over through cover for a four.


Ojha was brought back and Smith slogged the first delivery over deep mid-wicket for a six. He went after the second delivery, but only managed to sky it in the air. Anderson ran-in from long-off and took a sliding catch. Smith was dismissed for 29 runs off 22 deliveries with four sixes.


Harbhajan Singh was brought into the attack in the eighth over and he struck quickly. Suresh Raina gave the charge, but Harbhajan bowled wide outside off-stump. Raina missed with his shot and wicketkeeper CM Gautam clipped the bails. Raina was out for one.


The 16th over bowled by Harbhajan was an eventful one. First Pollard dropped a skier from Faf du Plessis and then Anderson failed to grab a tough chance coming in from long-on to catch McCullum. But du Plessis then came ahead and missed a flighted delivery from Harbhajan. Gautam got his second stumping of the night and du Plessis was out for 20 off 25 deliveries.


Malinga bowled a front-foot no-ball in the 18th over and then Dhoni smashed the free-hit for a six over deep mid-wicket. He then hit another four in the over. McCullum finished the match with on the last delivery of the 19th over.


Earlier, Mumbai only managed a total of 141 for seven in their 20 overs. Rohit Sharma top-scored with 50 runs in his 100th match in the IPL. Corey Anderson scored 39 runs, but it was a poor batting effort overall by Mumbai in Match 13 of IPL 7. Mohit Sharma was the pick of the bowlers for Chennai with four wickets for 14 runs. Ben Hilfenhaus finished with two wickets for 39 runs.


In the end the score was not enough for Mumbai even though they managed to drag it to the 19th over. Mohit was adjudged as the Man of the Match.


Brief scores:


Mumbai Indians 141 for 7 in 20 overs (Aditya Tare 23, Corey Anderson 39, Rohit Sharma 50; Mohit Sharma 4 for 14, Ben Hilfenhaus 2 for 39) lost to Chennai Super Kings 142 for 3 in 19 overs (Dwayne Smith 29, Brendon McCullum 71*; Harbhajan Singh 2 for 27) by 7 wickets.


Man of the Match: Mohit Sharma


Full Scorecard


Photo Gallery


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage


(Shrikant Shankar is a writer/reporter at Previously he has done audio commentary for various matches involving India, Indian Premier League and Champions League Twenty20 for You can follow him on Twitter @Shrikant_23)