Former West Indies Captain Chris Gayle is listed in category A © Getty Imgaes
Former West Indies captain Chris Gayle is listed in Category A © Getty Images


Port of Spain: Jan 18, 2014 


Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo have decided to accept retainer contracts with the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) after years of refusing it.


The move by Gayle and Bravo represents a turnaround from their decision not to accept retainer contracts in 2010 while a third player who did not sign that same year, Kieron Pollard, is still not on the list of players retained.


Gayle, West Indies captain at the time, refused to sign in 2010 when Ernest Hilaire was WICB’s CEO and was replaced by Darren Sammy later that year.


The new WICB CEO Michael Muirhead says Gayle and Bravo’s willingness to enter into contracts with the WICB at this time speaks for itself.


“I would like to believe it was a re-commitment to West Indies cricket from both of them (Dwayne Bravo and Chris Gayle). They were advised that they were being awarded contracts and they accepted,” said new WICB CEO Michael Muirhead Friday.


“So it augurs well for West Indies cricket and we really did not have to go into negotiations or anything, so it means that they are re-committed to West Indies cricket and the fact they are presenting themselves, making themselves available at the expense of the other leagues speaks for itself so I am happy about that.”


Off-spinner Sunil Narine, who had once opted out of a contract, is now on the list which also includes prolific Test batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul.


List of men’s players on Central Retainer Contracts 2013-2014 (with category)


Category A Category B Category C
Dwayne Bravo Kemar Roach Darren Bravo
Shivnarine Chanderpaul Johnson Charles
Chris Gayle Kirk Edwards
Sunil Narine Kieran Powell
Darren Sammy Denesh Ramdin
Marlon Samuels Ravi Rampaul
Shane Shillingford


List of women’s players on Central Retainer Contracts 2013-14 (with category)


Category A Category B
Shanel Daley Merissa Aguilleira
Anisa Mohammed Shemaine Campbell
Deandra Dottin Subrina Munroe
Stafanie Taylor Shaquana Quintyne
Shakera Selman
Tremayne Smartt