Kolkata Knight Riders will hope to have a better time in India than they did in the UAE © PTI
Kolkata Knight Riders will hope to have a better time in India than they did in the UAE © PTI


May 2, 2014


Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will be playing at their home away from home, Ranchi, for the very first time in the Indian Premier League (IPL). They take on a Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) side that has yet to find consistency in their line-up. Catch Live Blog of the match here


This will be a big match for CSK skipper MS Dhoni, who will be playing at his home ground for the first time in IPL 7. He last enthralled the Ranchi spectators in his canary yellow uniform in the 2013 Champions League T20, where he went ballistic on a haphazard Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) attack  to plunder an unbeatn 63 from just 19 balls with eight sixes. KKR will be hoping to avoid a replay of that innings.



Key Players: Chennai’s batting has looked very good in IPL 7, with openers Brendon McCullum and Dwayne Smith forming a fruitful partnership at the top.  Skipper MS Dhoni and CSK mainstay Suresh Raina haven’t had to do much yet with the bat. The bowlers have been CSK’s main weapons so far, and Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey and Ravichandran Ashwin will want to keep up their good work. For Kolkata, Gautam Gambhir looked in good touch against Rajasthan Royals after a prolonged bad patch. Jacques Kallis and Manish Pandey have also been in good form, while Suryakumar Yadav has been a revelation for them. Sunil Narine is currently the holder of the purple cap, and will look to add to his tally against CSK.




Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Francois du Plessis, Dwayne Smith, Brendon McCullum, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey, Ben Hilfenhaus, John Hastings, Samuel Badree, Matt Henry, Mithun Manhas, Vijay Shankar, Ronit More, Baba Aparajith, Pawan Negi.


Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (c), Jacques Kallis, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Manvinder Bisla (wk), Ryan ten Doeschate, Yusuf Pathan, Suryakumar Yadav, Sunil Narine, Chris Lynn, Kuldeep Yadav, Pat Cummins, Debabrata Das, Piyush Chawla, Morne Morkel, Umesh Yadav, Sayan Mondal, R Vinay Kumar, Andre Russell, Veer Pratap Singh.


Catch Live score and ball-by-ball commentary of the match here


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage