Dinesh Chandimal and Upul Tharanga © Getty Images
Dinesh Chandimal and Upul Tharanga © Getty Images

Following Angelo Mathews‘ resignation as Sri Lanka’s captain from all formats, Sri Lankan Cricket (SLC) Board handed over the Test reins to Dinesh Chandimal ,while giving the limited-overs (ODIs and T20s) captaincy to Upul Tharanga. Chandimal will be Sri Lanka’s 15th Test captain. In a press conference held on Wednesday morning, Mathews confirmed his successors. Mathews had announced his captaincy resignation on Tuesday night following the shocking 3-2 defeat against Zimbabwe, in ODIs, in their own den. Chandimal is set to make his debut as Sri Lanka’s Test captain in the one-off Test against Zimbabwe on Friday before his side takes on India in a 3-Test series. Angelo Mathews resigns as Sri Lanka captain in all formats

Tharanga, on the other hand, was the stand-in ODI skipper for the injured Mathews during Champions Trophy. His first assignment would also be against India in a five-match ODI series in August. He led the side in Mathews’ absence for the Zimbabwe tri-series that Sri Lanka won.

Sri Lanka, who are still looking for a desperate win in the ODIs to confirm a spot in ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, are currently hunting for a new coach after Graham Ford’s untimely resignation.

On receiving the opportunity to lead Sri Lanka in the longer format, Chandimal told ESPNcricinfo, “I’m very thankful to the job that Angie [Mathews] has done for us. Captaincy is not an easy job. He’s a match-winner for us, and I have huge hopes that he will continue to be one in the coming years as well.”

Leaving aside the Sri Lanka misery, the squad for one-off Test has been announced as well. The batting is bolstered with the likes Niroshan Dickwella, Tharanga, Dimuth Karunarathne and Kusal Mendis.

Asela Gunaratne will be the key bringing his all-round expertise in the forefront. Dhananjaya de Silva has been dropped for the Test.

Sri Lanka’s bowling will again be lead by the veteran Ranagan Herath. Supporting him in the spin department will be Lakshan Sandakan and Dilruwan Perera. However, Nuwan Pradeep and Kusal Perera’s absence due to injury has provided opportunity to Vishwa Fernando and Dushmantha Chameera who will be playing their first Test in 2017. Meanwhile, Suranga Lakmal and Lahiru Kumara complete the formidable pace attack.

Sri Lanka Test Squad:

Dinesh Chandimal (c), Upul Tharanga (vc), Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Dimuth Karunarathne, Dhanuska Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando, Suranga Lakmal, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara