England announce 15-member squad for India ODI series
Alex Hales has been included in the ODI squad © Getty Images


Aug 18, 2014


England selectors on Monday announced the 15-man squad for the five match One-Day International (ODI) series against India which will begin on Monday, August 25 at Bristol.


Among the 15 members, 11 played in the recent 3-1 Test series win over India.


Stuart Broad will miss the series and will have a specialist surgical opinion with regard to his right knee later this week.


National Selector James Whitaker was quoted by ECB official website, “With the ICC Cricket World Cup now less than six months away our focus over the coming months switches to identifying our strongest possible squad for that competition. However this is an important series in its own right and we have selected 15 players who we believe will perform well against an Indian side with a strong one-day record.”


“This series presents an opportunity for players to build on their international and domestic form and demonstrate that they have the ability to win games of cricket for England. With plenty of domestic limited overs cricket still to be played this season and a series against Sri Lanka in November before finalising our World Cup squad there are still opportunities for us to consider a number of players who have missed out on selection.”


“I would like to wish Alastair and the rest of the squad all the very best for what will no doubt be a competitive series.”


England squad: Alastair Cook (c), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Jos Buttler (wk), Steven Finn, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes.




Mon 25 Aug: 1st ODI, Bristol

Wed 27 Aug: 2nd ODI, SWALEC Stadium

Sat 30 Aug: 3rd ODI, Trent Bridge

Tue 2 Sept: 4th ODI, Edgbaston

Fri 5 Sept: 5th ODI, Headingley