Five Indians in ICC Champions Trophy 2013 Team of the Tournament

From left: Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja made it into the ICC-announced team © AFP

London: Jun 24, 2013

The International Cricket Council (ICC) released the Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 on Monday which includes five players from the Indian team.

The five Indians in the team are MS Dhoni, Shikhar Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravindra Jadeja and Virat Kohli. While there weren’t much exploits from Dhoni with the bat, he continued to impress with some brilliant captaincy which directed the team towards the title finish. Dhoni backing Ishant Sharma in the final — despite being hit for runs — was one such gamble which paid off and brought Indian back into the match. Dhoni was the unanimous choice as captain of the side.

The other members of the ICC team are Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka), Jonathan Trott and James Anderson (England), Mitchell McClenaghan (New Zealand), Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan), Ryan McLaren (South Africa) and Joe Root as 12th man (England).

The panel which chose the team comprised Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager – Cricket, and Chairman Event Technical Committee), Javagal Srinath (former India fast bowler and ICC Emirates Elite Panel match referee), Aleem Dar (ICC Emirates Elite Panel umpire), Scyld Berry (Wisden Editor from 2008-2011 and Sunday Telegraph correspondent) and Stephen Brenkley (correspondent of The Independent and Independent On Sunday).

“The side is a good mixture of specialists and all-rounders, and includes six in-form batsmen, including Dhoni as a wicketkeeper-batsman, a spinner in Jadeja, McLaren as an all-rounder and three most impressive fast bowlers of the tournament in Kumar, Anderson and McClenaghan,” Allardice was quoted as saying by the official website of ICC.

Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013:

Shikhar Dhawan, Jonathan Trott, Virat Kohli, Kumar Sangakkara, Misbah-ul-Haq, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ryan Mclaren, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mitchell McClenaghan, James Anderson, Joe Root (12th man).