Pravin Tambe is the 12th bowler in IPL history to pick a hat-trick © PTI
Pravin Tambe is the 12th bowler in IPL history to pick a hat-trick © PTI


May 5, 2014


Shane Watson of Rajasthan Royals became the 12th bowler in the Indian Premier League’s (IPL) history to take a hat-trick. After his teammate, Pravin Tambe became the 11th bowler to take a hat-trick, only in their last match when he claimed the record of claiming a hat-trick in two balls, previously achieved only by a Sri Lankan named Isuru Udana who picked three in two in the 2010 Champions league T20. Tambe dismissed Manish Pandey Yusuf Pathan and Ryan Ten Doeschate of the Kolkata Knight Riders to bag the first hat-trick of this IPL season.


Hat-trick facts: Amit Mishra is the only bowler to have picked three hat-tricks, and he has achieved it playing for three different teams i.e. Delhi Daredevils 92008), Deccan Chargers (2011), Sunrisers Hyderabad (2013). Meanwhile there are some surprise names in the list as well, part-time spinner Rohit Sharma has a hat-trick as well against Mumbai Indians in 2009 edition of the IPL. Similarly, left-arm part-time spinner Yuvraj Singh has two IPL hat-tricks to his name playing for Kings XI Punjab. In fact Yuvraj is the only bowler in the list to have achieved two hat-ricks in the same season. The other bowlers on the IPL hat-trick list are Laxmipathy Balaji, Makhaya Ntini, Praveen Kumar, Ajit Chandila and Sunil Narine. Out of the 12 hat-tricks, nine have come from spinners. Below is a full list of hat-tricks in IPL.


No  Season  Bowler  Team Against  Date
1 IPL 1 Lakshmipathy Balaji Chennai Super Kings Kings XI Punjab 10-May-08
2 IPL 1 Amit Mishra Delhi Daredevils Deccan Chargers 15-May-08
3 IPL 1 Makhaya Ntini Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders 18-May-08
4 IPL 2 Yuvraj Singh Kings XI Punjab Royal Challengers Bangalore 1-May-09
5 IPL 2 Rohit Sharma Deccan Chargers Mumbai Indians 6-May-09
6 IPL 2 Yuvraj Singh Kings XI Punjab Deccan Chargers 17-May-09
7 IPL 3 Praveen Kumar Royal Challengers Bangalore Rajasthan Royals 18-Mar-10
8 IPL 4 Amit Mishra Deccan Chargers Kings XI Punjab 21-May-11
9 IPL 5 Ajit Chandila Rajasthan Royals Pune Warriors India 13-May-12
10 IPL 6 Sunil Narine Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab 16-Apr-13
11 IPL 6 Amit Mishra Sunrisers Hyderabad Pune Warriors India 17-Apr-13
12 IPL 7 Pravin Tambe Rajasthan Royals Kolkata Knight Riders 5-May-14
13 IPL 7 Shane Watson Rajasthan Royals Sunrisers Hyderabad 8-May-14


Click here for IPL 2014 Points Table and Team Standings

Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule: Match time table for IPL 7

Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results

Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage