Ian Bell, Charlotte Edwards win England cricketers of the year awards for 2013-14
The winners of ECB 2013-14 awards. (From Left) Stephen George, Charlotte Edwards, Ian Bell and Will Rhodes © Getty Images


By Sudatta Mukherjee


Jun 10, 2014


England middle-order batsman Ian Bell has been named as the England Men’s Cricketer of the Year 2013-14, while Charlotte Edwards won the Women’s Cricketer of the Year. England Under-19 captain Will Rhodes was the winner of the England Development Programme Cricketer of the Year.


All the four winners were honoured at Lord’s on Monday evening which was hosted by England and wales Cricket Board (ECB) and Waitrose, the sponsor of all England’s cricket teams.


The awards recognise outstanding performances in all formats of international cricket over the past year beginning with last summer’s tour by New Zealand and encompassing the recent ICC World Twenty20 (T20) men’s and women’s tournaments in Bangladesh, as stated by ECB’s press release.


The press release states, “Ian Bell overcame competition from Stuart Broad and Joe Root to win the men’s award which was decided by votes from members of the cricket media. Bell’s award reflected his outstanding contribution to England’s Ashes victory last summer with the Warwickshire batsman making three centuries and two half centuries during the five-match Investec Test series.”


“England captain Charlotte Edwards’ consistent run-scoring and outstanding leadership skills in a year which saw England women win back-to-back Ashes series helped her win the women’s award. Natalie Sciver, Anya Shrubsole and Sarah Taylor were the other nominees for this award,” the statement added.


The release also stated the England Under-19 captain. “Will Rhodes, who led England Under 19s to third place in the ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup and also made his Yorkshire first team debut last summer, beat off competition from Ben Duckett, Matt Fisher and Rob Sayer to land the England Development Programme award.


Stephen George, a wicket-keeper batsman from Paignton in Devon, received the Disability Cricketer of the Year award after playing a starring role in the England Deaf Squad’s 6-0 series whitewash of South Africa in Pretoria last autumn.”


ECB Chief Executive David Collier said: “These awards are always fiercely contested and represent a huge accolade for the individuals concerned. Our congratulations go to all our award winners for their outstanding efforts on behalf of England teams over the past 12 months. We also thank our team sponsor Waitrose, and the MCC, for their help in staging this event in one of cricket’s most iconic locations – the Long Room at Lord’s.”