The rules of cricket are quite simple. One just needs to dive-deep into the rule book to have a better understanding of all the sections and sub-sections. Sadly, for one such Under-19 player his inability to learn them cost him his wicket. South Africa’s Jiveshen Pillay was batting on 47 in their Group A match against West Indies in ICC Under-19 World Cup 2018, when he was given out obstructing the field.

Pillay after under-edging the ball, tried to stop it from ricocheting onto the stumps. He rather than waiting for the ball to completely stop, gathered it with his hands and threw the ball to the keeper. As per rule 37.4 – Returning the ball to a fielder, Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if, at any time while the ball is in play and without the consent of a fielder, he uses his bat or any part of his person, including a hand not holding the bat, to return the ball to any fielder.

 

Speaking about the incident, former West Indies’ fast bowler Ian Bishop to FoxSports said, ”This is an unfortunate issue. The batsman is not trying to gain an unfair advantage. All he is trying to do is help out the fielding team. I would have to have a deeper look at myself if I was the fielding captain. Can I use some discretion here for the sake of the game and whatever the spirit of the game means? I wouldn’t have gone that way. He’s obviously a bright kid and he understands the letter of the law. On this occasion it’s slightly different for me compared to the last World Cup.”