Wayne Parnell picked up two wickets for South Africa © AFP
Wayne Parnell picked up two wickets for South Africa © AFP


Mar 19, 2014


Pakistan have been bowled out for a paltry 71 in 17.3 overs by South Africa in an ICC World T20 2014 warm-up tie at Fatullah on March 19, 2014. Only three Pakistan batsmen got into double figures as a rampant South African bowling line-up took wickets at regular intervals. Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Beuran Hendricks and Wayne Parnell took two wickets each in the T20 World Cup clash.


JP Duminy and Aaron Phangiso took a wicket each. Umar Akmal was the highest scorer for Pakistan with 17 runs. Sohaib Maqsood scored 15 and Ahmed Shehzad got 12 runs.


Earlier, Pakistan captain Mohammad Hafeez won the toss and elected to bat first. Shehzad and Sharjeel Khan opened the batting for Pakistan. Duminy and Tsotsobe began proceedings for South Africa. Shehzad hit the first four in the innings off Duminy in the third over. But two deliveries later, Duminy got Shehzad out LBW for 12 off 13 deliveries.


In the fourth over, the match was delayed as there was a floodlight failure at the stadium. There was almost complete darkness. Once the lights came back on, Umar hit a four off Tsotsobe. Hendricks was brought into the attack and he dismissed Sharjeel for two runs off 11 deliveries. Sharjeel gave a catch to wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock.


The wickets just kept tumbling there. Shoaib Malik was dismissed by Hendricks for one runs. Umar departed for 17 to Parnell and Kamran Akmal was run out for a duck on the first ball. Maqsood was also run out for 15 runs.


After his heroics for Pakistan in the Asia Cup 2014, Shahid Afridi could not replicate the fireworks as he was bowled by Phangiso for six. Bilawal Bhatti was caught and bowled by Tsotsobe for three. Umar Gul gave a catch to de Kock as Tsotsobe got his second wicket. Hafeez, who had come in at No 8, was the last batsman dismissed for seven runs. Parnell took his wicket.


Brief scores:


Pakistan 71 in 17.3 overs (Ahmed Shehzad 12, Umar Akmal 17, Sohaib Maqsood 15; Wayne Parnell 2 for 2, Beuran Hendricks 2 for 3, Lonwabo Tsotsobe 2 for 15) vs South Africa.


Full Scorecard


ICC World T20 2014 Schedule details