Dane Piedt bagged a 3-for © Getty Images
Dane Piedt bagged a 3-for © Getty Images

Dane Piedt and Beuran Hendricks ran through India A’s batting line-up as the bowlers helped South Africa A restrict the visitors for 120 in the first unofficial Test. At the LC de Villiers Oval, Pretoria, South Africa elected to bat first and put up a competitive 346-run first innings total to put pressure on India A. The visitors, chasing the target, collapsed inside a half session-and-half, handing the hosts a healthy first innings lead. At stumps of Day Two, South Africa did not lose a single wicket and the openers put up 66 runs on the board to take the lead to 292. Cook’s 120 guides South Africa A to 274/4 vs India A

After Stephen Cook’s blistering knock that led South Africa A to 274 for 4 at stumps on Day One, the middle and lower order batsmen together added 72 runs on Day Two. Indian bowlers had restricted the hosts within a target that could have been achieved, given the side boasts of talented batsmen. Mohammed Siraj and Shahbaz Nadeem were the only two successful bowlers with 4 wickets each, while two other dismissals were run outs. However, Indian batsmen disappointed one and all as they looked uncomfortable batting against the South Africa pacers. Both openers, Ravikumar Samarth and Ishan Kishan departed for golden ducks while Sudip Chatterjee contributed with 6 runs. It was not until Shreyas Iyer and Karun Nair that any of the batsmen scored in double digits. However, both could not last long. Iyer’s 31 was the highest contribution made by any Indian batsmen in the innings. Vijjay Shankar, who displayed some decent defense, was retired hurt for 26 and India’s innings came to an end with 120 on the board.

India, on a contrary, failed to achieve any success as South Africa batted again. Stephen Cook (32*) and Aiden Markram (34*) will resume batting on Day Three.

Brief scores:

South Africa A 346 and 66 for 0 (Stephen Cook 32*, Aiden Markram 34*; Aniket Choudhary 0 for 5) lead India A 120 (Shreyas Iyer 31, Vijay Shankar 26; Beuran Hendricks 3 for 23, Dane Piedt 3 for 32) by 292 runs.