Yuvraj Singh, Stuart Binny in India squad for ICC World T20 2014
Yuvraj Singh last played a T20 match for India in October 2013 against Australia © PTI


Feb 11, 2014


The Indian squad for next month’s International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20 championship to be held in Bangladesh was announced on Tuesday in Bangalore. Yuvraj Singh returns to the side for the World T20 event. Stuart Binny, who is riding high on his Irani Trophy 2013-14 performance, was also included.


Yuvraj returns to the squad after playing his last T20 match for India in October 2013 against Australia. He had scored an unbeaten 77 and was awarded the Man of the Match.


Ishant Sharma was dropped from both ICC World T20 and Asia Cup squad despite picking up nine wickets in the first Test against New Zealand at Auckland.


Binny is currently playing the Irani Trophy 2013-14 for Karnataka against Rest of India. He has taken three wickets in the first innings and scored a brilliant 122 runs.


The bowling attack comprises of Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Varun Aaron and Mohit Sharma. Ravichandran Ashwin and Amit Sharma are the two spinners in the squad.


No back-up wicketkeeper was selected for the World T20.


Squad: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny, Varun Aaron, Amit Mishra, Mohit Sharma.


ICC World T20 2014 schedule: Match time table with venue details