Suresh Raina © Getty Images
Suresh Raina © Getty Images (File Photo)


Jun 17, 2014


India were gasping at 75 for seven after 18 overs in the second One-Day International (ODI) between India and Bangladesh at Dhaka. Mortaza bowled nine overs on the trot, finishing with impressive figures of two for 35. He got rid of Wriddhiman Saha LBW for five before Suresh Raina was run out off the very next ball. Akshar Patel started impressively, hitting a boundary off the first ball he faced in international cricket. He hit another one, but was cleaned up for eight soon after.


Earlier, Mortaza and Taskin kept things very tight and tested the Indian batsmen. Suresh Raina led a fightback for India, but Taskin continued his very impressive debut by accounting for a struggling Cheteshwar Pujara, out LBW after a very scratchy 34-ball 11.


Taskin Ahmed struck twice on debut. After dismissing Robin Uthappa in the first over after the break, he had new man Ambati Rayudu out LBW as well. At the other end, Cheteshwar Pujara was finding it very tough to score runs as he was languishing on seven from 27 balls and India were crawling at 29 for three after 10 overs.


Taskin continued, bowling the eighth over. Uthappa managed to get four off the first delivery, before taking a couple off the next one. However, Taskin soon had reason to celebrate, as Uthappa top edged a shot to the man at mid-off to give Taskin his maiden ODI wicket. From the other end, Mortaza continued his good spell, hardly giving anything away.


Taskin resumed after the break and completed his over, going for four runs off it. Mortaza continued, and bowled another tight over, going for just two runs. His bowling figures at the time was 4-1-6-1 as he kept the pressure flowing for Bangladesh.


Earlier, rain interrupted play in the second ODI between India and Bangladesh at Dhaka. Taskin Ahmed could bowl just two deliveries on his ODI debut before the heavens opened and the covers came on. In those two balls, he bounced Cheteshwar Pujara twice, at good pace.


Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and chose to field. Parvez Rasool made way for Stuart Binny in the Indian team, while Bangladesh made two changes with Mithun Ali and Taskin Ahmed making their debuts.


Catch all the stories from India’s tour of Bangladesh 2014 here