India have retained their No 2 position while South Africa stay at No 3 © Getty Images
India have retained their No 2 position while South Africa stay at No 3 © Getty Images


Dubai: Mar 7, 2014


They might be out of action for quite sometime in this format of the game, but India managed to hold to their second position in the Reliance ICC T20I Team Rankings issued on Friday.


Both India and third-placed South Africa have 123 points in their accounts, but the former just managed to pip the Proteas when ratings were calculated beyond the decimal point.


Sri Lanka continued to lead the chart with 129 points.


But a bit of movement is expected on the table just before the ICC World Twenty20 to be held in Bangladesh from March 16 to April 6 as four of the top eight sides will be seen in action in six matches in the upcoming fortnight.


Third-ranked South Africa will lock horns against sixth-placed Australia (110) in a three-match rubber starting March 9 at Port Elizabeth, while ICC World Twenty20 2012 champion and fifth-placed West Indies (111) will take on England (105) in eighth position, winner of the 2010 edition, from March 9 at Bridgetown, Barbados.


With only eight ratings points separating the top four sides — India (123 points), South Africa (123 points) and Pakistan (121 points) — South Africa, Australia and England all have an opportunity to make upward movements if they win all matches in their respective series.


South Africa can rise a place to second if it wins all the matches against Australia, whereas West Indies and England will retain its pre-series positions if Darren Sammy‘s side wins the series 3-0.


Australia can rise two places to fourth, whereas England can move up two places to sixth.


Meanwhile, vice-captain Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and Yuvraj Singh are the only three Indian players to find a place in the individual rankings.


While Kohli, Raina and Yuvraj occupy the fourth, fifth and sixth spots in the T20 batsman’s chart, Yuvraj occupies the third spot among all-rounders.


However, no Indian features in the bowlers chart which is being headed by Sunil Narine of West Indies.


ICC World T20 2014 schedule: Match time table with venue details