The 30 man list for ICC World T20 has already been announced © Getty Images
The 30 man list for ICC World T20 has already been announced © Getty Images (Representational Photo)


Mumbai: Feb 6, 2014 


The Indian squad for next month’s ICC World T20 2014 and the Asia Cup starting later this month, both to be held in Bangladesh, will be picked during the upcoming Irani Cup clash in Bangalore.


“The squad for World T20 championship and the Asia Cup are to be picked during the Irani Cup match in Bangalore (from February 9-13 between Ranji Trophy 2013-14 champions Karnataka and Rest of India) where all five selectors would be present. The deadline to choose the World T20 team is February 15,” BCCI sources told PTI.


The preliminary probables’ list for the March 16-April 6 World T20 Championship has already been announced by Board of control for Cricket in India (BCCI).


India, who won the inaugural ICC World T20 Championship in 2007, will open their campaign against arch rivals and 2009 champions Pakistan in a Group 2 fixture on March 21 at the Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.


They will play their remaining second stage league fixtures on March 23 (v West Indies in Mipur), March 28 (v first stage qualifier in Mirpur) and March 30 (v Australia in Mirpur).


The two semifinals are scheduled on April 3 and 4 at the Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium followed by the summit clash at the same venue on April 6.


The five-team Asia Cup limited over (50 overs) tournament is to be held from February 25-March 8 in two venues (Fatullah and Mirpur).


ICC World T20 2014 schedule: Match time table with venue details