This tour will be an opportunity for the new names in Indian team to prove their worth © AFP
This tour will be an opportunity for the new names in Indian team to prove their worth © AFP


Jun 7, 2014


India are all set to play three One-Day Internationals (ODI) against Bangladesh at Dhaka from June 15-June 19. Both the teams have already announced their squads for the the three-match series. Indian selectors have chosen to provide opportunities to new players and have picked a squad with fresh names for the series against Bangladesh. Meanwhile, regular names like MS Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rohit Sharma and others have been rested. India will be led by Suresh Raina.


Bangladesh announced their squad for the series on June 5, 2014. They included two new names Taskin Ahmed and Mohammad Mithun Mithun in their side. Bangladesh will feature with a full-strength squad with Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim being the seasoned campaigners.



This series will be a test for some new names in the Indian team. Only Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Stuart Binny, Amit Mishra and Ambati Rayudu are the only ones to be retained from the Asia Cup squad. After a successful Indian Premier League (IPL), left-arm spinner Akshar Patel has been picked. India’s middle order comprises of Manoj Towary, Rayudu, Ranji Trophy 2013-14 top-scorer Kedar Jadhav.


Bangladesh skipper Mushfiqur Rahim has already warned India that if the team loses, then it’s India who loses and not India ‘A’, in reference to the weak squad being sent.


Series Time-Table


Date Match Venue
15-Jun-14 India vs Bangladesh 1st ODI Dhaka
17-Jun-14 India vs Bangladesh 2nd ODI Dhaka
19-Jun-14 India vs Bangladesh 3rd ODI Dhaka




India: Suresh Raina (c), Robin Uthappa, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Stuart Binny, Parvez Rasool, Akshar Patel, R Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav,  Mohit Sharma, Amit Mishra.  Analysis of Indian Team here


Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (c), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque (wk), Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Sohag Gazi, Ziaur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain and Taskin Ahmed. Analysis of Bangladesh Team here