India vs England: Nick Compton disappointed with umpire's wrong decision

Nick Compton added 165 runs for the opening wicket with skipper Alastair Cook on the second day of the third Test at Kolkata © PTI

Kolkata: Dec 6, 2012

England opener Nick Compton, who was adjudged leg before wicket by umpire Rod Tucker on Thursday, claimed that the ball had brushed his gloves before hitting the pads.

“I am a bit disappointed. The ball had actually hit my gloves before hitting the pads,” Compton, who posted his maiden test fifty, told mediapersons after day two of the third cricket test against India at the Eden Gardens.

He, however, defended the Australian umpire saying it was difficult for Tucker to judge.

“It was really difficult for the umpire to judge whether the ball had hit my glove from that angle,” added Compton.

While trying to paddle-sweep left armer Pragyan Ojha, Compton was adjudged leg before by Tucker who initially nodded his head in the negative before raising his finger.

Compton defended stoutly and faced 137 balls for his 57 and stitched a 165-run first wicket partnership with skipper Alastair Cook, who was unbeaten on 136 at stumps.