India will eye a seventh win in the tournament © Getty Images (File Photo)
India will eye a seventh straight win in the tournament © Getty Images (File Photo)

India Women, as expected, dominated Bangladesh Women in their second Super Six match in the ongoing ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier taking place in the Emerald Island of Sri Lanka. India, with this win, also notched up their sixth straight win in this tournament. With this win, the Women in Blue also booked a place in the final tournament set to take place in England  in June this year.  Led by Mithali Raj, India have been pushing aside any competition that rose against them. Mithali, Mona strike fifties as IND beat BAN Women by 9 wickets

Bangladesh got a first-hand taste of how surgical India  have been with the ball and bat. Spinners have contributed the most, which was expected going by Sri Lankan conditions. To everyone’s surprise, Mansi Joshi and Shikha Pandey have been remarkable with their fast bowling, picking wickets at crucial junctures. Form of Poonam Yadav and Rajeshwari Gayakwad will be  of prime importance going ahead.

With the bat, Mithali, Mona Meshram and Deepti Sharma have accumulated runs    at will. With Mithali and Mona scoring match winning half-centuries in the previous games, it spells doom for their opponents in the matches ahead.

On the flipside, Pakistan, have been a formidable side to beat in this edition. Pakistan’s batting has been the highlight of the series for them with Javeria Khan and Nahida Khan plundering runs left, right and centre. The pair together have contributed 519 runs to the teams’ tally. Middle order  batters Ayesha Zafar and Nain Abidi have also supported their star players to the tee. 19 year-old Nashra Sandhu has  led the team from the front, picking 17 wickets in just 6 games, while former skipper Sana Mir has  snatched 10 wickets in 5 games. Both have been well supported by Ghulam Fatima, who to her name has 9 scalps.

Both India and Pakistan have a strong and experienced side to field.  While India  have qualified for the final tournament, Pakistan will be desperate for a win to have a chance of moving ahead.


India Women: Mithali Raj (c), Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Thirush Kamini, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Sushma Verma (wk), Soni Yadav, Mansi Joshi.

Pakistan: Sana Mir (c), Aiman Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Zafar, Bismah Maroof, Ghulam Fatima, Javeria Khan, Nahida Khan, Maham Tariq, Nashra Sandhu, Sidra Ameen, Rabiya Shah (wk), Nain Abidi, Muneeba Ali

 Time: 10.00 AM IST