Charlotte Edwards was declared the Player of the Series © Getty Images (File Photo)
Charlotte Edwards was declared the Player of the Series © Getty Images (File Photo)


By Amit Banerjee


Aug 25, 2014


The third and final match between India Women and England Women at Lords was called off due to an incessant downpour on Monday. England Women were declared the winners of the series after having already clinched the series in the previous game at Scarborough with a 13 run win, with skipper Charlotte Edwards being  declared the Player of the Series.


India Women were playing the match for pride after they lost the first two matches of the series, both of which were hosted at Scarborough, by margins of  42 runs (D/L Method) and 13 runs respectively. England Women dominated the first game strong performances in all departments, restricting the Indians to a lowly total of 193 for eight from their allotted 47 overs. The English batswomen gave a strong response with the bat, putting up a 110-run opening stand. The hosts were 153 for the loss of three wickets when the heavens opened up and England Women were declared winners by a margin of 42 runs by the Duckworth-Lewis method.


The second game was more closely-fought as it was crucial for the Indian women to win in order to stay alive in the series. England Women were put to bat and were going strong at 112 for two at one stage. A flurry of wickets in the middle overs caused a collapse and England Women ended at 214 for the loss of nine wickets, way below what everyone expected at one stage. While skipper Charlotte Edwards’ fighting innings of 108 guided her team past the 200-run total, Rajeshwari Gayakwad and Jhulan Goswami shone with the ball with four and three scalps respectively. The Indian women however faced an equally spirited English bowling, who tormented the tourists constantly throughout their innings. Jenny Gunn‘s figures of four for 23 helped dismiss India for a total 14 runs short of the target.


England Women skipper Edwards was declared Player of the Series for her consistency with the bat. The Indian Women however can go back with some pride, having won the one-off Test against earlier during their tour.