Gautam Gambhir © Getty Images
Gautam Gambhir © Getty Images


May 28, 2014


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced India’s squad for the Tests during the tour of England in July. The major breakthrough in the squad is the return of Gautam Gambhir, and the absence of Zaheer Khan from the 18-man squad.


Rajasthan pacer Pankaj Singh has also been included in the squad along with Stuart Binny. BCCI made the announcement through their official Twitter handle.


After making a comeback to form in the ongoing IPL 7, Gambhir has finally got the India call up he must have so desperately been waiting for. While many were expecting the return of Robin Uthappa, keeping in mind his mind-blowing form, but he has been ignored for the Test squad.


Pankaj will be excited though, as finally his consistent performances in the domestic circuit have earned him the call up. It is a golden chance for Binny too, who had an excellent Ranji Trophy 2013-14 season.


Ishant Sharma has been retained, while Varun Aaron too is making a comeback.


India Squad:


Mahendra Singh Dhoni (c &wk), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Gautam Gambhir, Varun Aaron, Pankaj Singh, Wriddhiman Saha, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishwar Pandey, Stuart Binny, Mohammed Shami.