IPL 2014 Final: Gautam Gambhir dismissed as Kolkata Knight Riders stay abreast of required run rate against Kings XI Punjab

Jun 1, 2014


In the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2014 final played between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Gautam Gambhir was dismissed by Karanveer Singh, caught by David Miller off the first ball of the seventh over.


Gambhir and Manish Pandey had kept KKR abreast of the required run rate till the end of the sixth over. Parvinder Awana came on to bowl the sixth over. After conceding just three runs off the first three balls, KXIP conceded five runs in the form of an overthrow. The extra runs boosted KKR’s chase as they managed to score 59 for one in the power play.


L Balaji came on to bowl the fifth over of the innings. Pandey smashed a boundary down the ground off the first ball. Balaji came back well to give just two runs off the next three balls. Balaji conceded eight runs off that over.


Earlier, Kolkata Knight Riders had recovered after the early loss of Robin Uthappa in their run-chase of 200 against Kings XI Punjab in the IPL 2014 final at Bangalore. Manish Pandey and Gautam Gambhir had taken Kolkata to 40 for one in four overs.


Mitchell Johnson came on to bowl in the third over and bowled a wide first up. The next ball was full and outside of. Gambhir drove it beautifully through extra-cover for a four. Johnson was working some good pace through the innings. The last ball was also full and it was smashed for four by Gambhir through the off-side.


Parvinder Awana came to bowl in the fourth over and Manish Pandey flicked him for a four through wide long-on. He then walked down the track and pulled through mid-wicket for a couple.


Earlier, Kolkata won the toss and chose to bowl first on what looks like a very good batting track at Bangalore. Kolkata played an unchanged side for this contest. Punjab made one change as Lakshmipathy Balaji came in place of Sandeep Sharma. Wriddhiman Saha’s brilliant ton took Punjab to 199 for four.


Follow Live Blog Here


Catch ball-by-ball commentary of the IPL 2014 final between KXIP and KKR here


Click here for IPL 2014 complete coverage


Click here for IPL 2014 Schedule & Results