points table

The 10th season of world’s most-decorated Twenty20 (T20) extravaganza, the Indian Premier League (IPL) will go underway on April 5, 2017. The first match, as always, will be played between the defending champions and the runners-up of the previous edition at the former’s den. In this case, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), the reigning champions, will take on Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Uppal, Hyderabad. The other six teams of the tournament namely Delhi Daredevils (DD), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Kings XI Punjab (KXIP), Gujarat Lions (GL), Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) and Mumbai Indians (MI) will also start their campaign in a couple of days’ time from the tournament opener. IPL 2017 Purple Cap holder: List of Leading Wicket-Takers in IPL 10 – Bhuvneshwar continues to hold fort

This year, the tournament will be played at 10 Indian cities. The two cities, in addition to the eight home cities of Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Mumbai, Pune, Mohali, Kolkata, Delhi and Rajkot, will be Indore (KXIP’s second home) and Kanpur (GL’s second home). The matches will be played at two time slots: IST 04:00 PM and IST 08:00 PM. IPL 10 will be relatively shorter than its previous editions, with the matches scheduled to be played across the span of 47 days. Both the tournament opener as well as final, which will be played on May 21, will be conducted in Hyderabad. IPL 2017 Orange Cap holder: List of Leading Batsmen in IPL 10 – Warner reclaims top spot

All the teams will play each other twice, as always, on a home-away basis. After the conclusion of the league stage, the top four teams on the points table will progress to the next round. In case multiple teams end on same points, Net Run Rate (NRR) will determine which teams go further. Of these, the teams finishing No. 1 and 2 will get two shots at making it to the final. They will play each other in Qualifier 1 and the winner of the match will go directly to the final. The losing team, however, will get another crack at making it to the final, as it will take on the winner of No. 3 and No. 4 in Qualifier 2.

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts  NRR
Mumbai Indians 8 6 2 0 0 12 0.514
Kolkata Knight Riders 7 5 2 0 0 10 1.177
Sunrisers Hyderabad 7 4 3 0 0 8 0.481
Rising Pune Supergiant 7 4 3 0 0 8 -0.627
Kings XI Punjab 7 3 4 0 0 6 -0.319
Delhi Daredevils 6 2 4 0 0 4 0.848
Gujarat Lions 7 2 5 0 0 4 -0.844
Royal Challengers Bangalore 7 2 5 0 0 4 -1.210.

MI continue to dominance despite their winning streak coming to an end with a 3-run loss versus RPS. KKR and SRH remain on second and third position respectively, whereas RPS climb to the top 4 with 3 back-to-back victories.