Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here

Home > News >

Irani Cup 2013: Suresh Raina ton powers Rest of India to huge total

Irani Cup 2013: Suresh Raina ton powers Rest of India to huge total

Suresh Raina scored his 11th First-Class ton at the Wankhede against Mumbai © Getty Images

Mumbai: Feb 7, 2013

Middle-order batsman Suresh Raina struck a brisk unbeaten century to propel Rest of India towards a huge total against Mumbai on Day Two of the Irani Trophy. Rest of India took lunch at 487 for six and are in total control of the match.

Raina paired up with Abhimanyu Mithun, who unleashed some powerful strokes himself, and upped the ante at the Wankhede by scoring at over a run a ball. The duo shared an unbeaten 135-run seventh-wicket partnership.

Raina struck 13 boundaries and three sixes in his 114, which came in 159 balls at a strike rate of 71.69. A major chunk of his runs came on the off-side backward of square as he toyed around with Mumbai’s hapless attack.

Mithun, meanwhile, scored his 46 not out off 85 balls including eight boundaries and a six.

The duo made mincemeat of Mumbai’s bowling on a ptich that has eased up after its early movement. The last 10 overs before lunch yielded 66 runs.

Skipper Harbhajan Singh was the only wicket to fall in the morning after Dhawal Kulkarni found the leading edge whick was pouched by Mumbai captain Abhishek Nayar.

Brief Scores: Rest of India 481 for 6 (Suresh Raina 114*, Murali Vijay 116; Abhishek Nayar 2 for 57) vs Mumbai

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 19, 2014 (16:00 IST)   at Dubai

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 19, 2014 (20:00 IST)   at Dubai

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 20, 2014 (20:00 IST)   at Sharjah

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 21, 2014 (20:00 IST)   at Abu Dhabi

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 22, 2014 (20:00 IST)   at Sharjah


Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 18, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

Rajasthan Royals won by 4 wkts

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 18, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

Kings XI Punjab won by 6 wkts

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 17, 2014  at Sharjah

Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 8 wkts

Indian T20 League 2014

Apr 16, 2014  at Abu Dhabi

Kolkata Knight Riders won by 41 runs

Womens World T20, 2014

Apr 6, 2014  at Dhaka

Australia Women won by 6 wkts


Delhi vs Bangalore match 2, IPL 2014 at Sharjah


Video Highlights: Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders wickets

IPL Statistics and Records: IPL’s First

IPL 2014: Umpire Camera View creates latest buzz in tournament

IPL 7: Vintage Jacques Kallis showed his class for Kolkata Knight Riders against Mumbai Indians

IPL 2014: Capacity crowd at UAE provides glimpse of the T20 league’s huge following

BCCI Chennai Super Kings Delhi Daredevils England India IPL IPL 7 IPL 2014 Kings XI Punjab Kolkata Knight Riders Lasith Malinga MS Dhoni Mumbai Indians Royal Challengers Bangalore Virat Kohli

BCCI members to attend crucial meeting

Pakistan Cricket Board bring out strict eligibility rules for appointing coaches

Peter Moores set to become England coach

IPL 2014: Anjinkya Rahane says he was confident of overhauling Sunrisers Hyderabad’s target

Delhi Daredevils vs Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2014, Match 6 Preview: Delhi search for first win

IPL 2014: Rajasthan Royals’ team composition vital for success

Kings XI Punjab’s local talent gives them an added dimension in IPL 2014

Former Australia PM Robert Menzies used cricket to win a case as a lawyer

Naoomal Jaoomal: The man who opened batting in India’s first ever Test

Sony launches ‘IPL Smart Earphone’ to filter crap commentary; calls endeavour CSR

Fan of the Day

Sudatta Mukherjee

Sudatta Mukherjee

1 Posts | 0 Fans

Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2014 Video Highlights

11 possible causes of coughing up blood

Know what it takes to save your skin during flights

Forcing Steve Jobs out was a mistake: Former Apple CEO John Sculley

Was Sunny Leone desperate to replace Sherlyn Chopra in MTV Splitsvilla?

Mandira Bedi: Gangs of Haseepur has something for all!

Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 10.1 listed on the company’s e-Store at Rs 36,340

Also on