The elections at the MPCA were amicable with the two factions ending their tussle © Getty Images
The elections at the MPCA were amicable with the two factions ending their tussle © Getty Images

Indore: Aug 24, 2014

Former Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia was on Sunday unanimously elected as Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association (MPCA) chairman and ex-Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Sanjay Jagdale as president after state Urban Development Minister Kailash Vijaywargiya’s group decided not to contest the cricket body’s biennial polls.

“I am happy that this time MPCA’s biennial polls were held unanimously and for that Vijaywargiya deserves honour and respect,” Scindia told reporters after the Annual General Meeting (AGM). The Scindia group had virtually trounced Vijayawargiya group in the 2012 high-voltage polls. But this time Scindia proposed the name of Jagdale, who commands lot of respect in the city, for the post of president and that of himself as chairman which resulted in unanimous elections.

Scindia said though his panel had the majority, still he proposed the name of Jagdale and added that he is fully confident that the former BCCI secretary would take MPCA to newer heights. Vijaywargiya said on the occasion that his group’s senior cricketers expressed a desire to end “bitterness” between the two camps and therefore, decided not to contest the MPCA polls.

The minister also said that during the AGM he proposed the name of Scindia as president, but he (Scindia) backed Jagdale for the post following which he also supported the candidature of former BCCI secretary. Jagdale said that he will do his best to promote cricket and will work hard to improve the game’s basic infrastructure in the state.

Besides Scindia and Jagdale, the new body has Dr MK Bhargava, Ashok Jagdale and Narendra Hirwani as vice Presidents, Milind Kanmadikar as secretary, Pankaj Pandey and Sandeep Mungere as joint secretaries and Praveen Kasliwal as treasurer.