Irani Trophy tie not to be played at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur

Punjab A had taken a first innings lead of 227 runs © AFP

Bangalore: Nov 20, 2012

An unfinished 131-run partnership for the eighth wicket between Akbar Kazi (66 not out, 164b, 9×4) and Aditya Sagar (58 not out, 137b, 9×4, 3×6) rescued Karnataka A while denying Punjab A an outright win as the C.K. Nayudu Trophy cricket match ended in a draw on Tuesday.

Having gained a first innings lead of 227 runs, Punjab walked away with three points while Karnataka, who ended the day on 338/7 when the match was called off after the fifth mandatory over, picked up one point.

Karnataka, overnight 106/1, avoided an outright defeat thanks to Kazi and Sagar while, at the top of the order, opener Mayank Agarwal (74, 129b, 13×4) and Pawan Deshpande (53, 63b, 8×4) chipped in with useful half-centuries.

For Punjab, seamers Jaskaran Singh (2/84) and Deepak Bansal (3/83) and left-arm spinner Gurinder Singh (3/77) were among the wickets.

Brief Scores: Punjab A 493 in 142.1 overs drew with Karnataka A 266 in 79.2 overs and 338 for 7 in 114 overs (Mayank Agarwal 74, Akbar Kazi 66*, Aditya Sagar 58*; Jaskaran Singh 2 for 84, Deepak Bansal 3 for 83, Gurinder Singh 3 for 77)