Mayank Agarwal scored a superb century for Karnataka © Getty Images
Mayank Agarwal scored a superb century for Karnataka © Getty Images


Bangalore: Mar 3, 2014


Opener Mayank Agarwal hammered his way to a superb 116 as Karnataka thrashed Goa by 71 runs in a one-sided South Zone match in the Vijay Hazare Trophy on Monday.


Agarwal smashed 13 boundaries and three sixes in his explosive knock to help Karnataka post a huge 312 for 9 at Chinnaswamy stadium.


Mayank shared a useful 94 runs partnership for second wicket with in-form Lokesh Rahul (40) as the duo consolidated the innings after the fall of Robin Uthappa‘s (27) wicket.


Following Rahul’s dismissal, Manish Pandey also played a crucial role as he added 70 runs for third wicket with Mayank.


Karun Nair (23) and Chidamabaram Gautam (20), did their bit in taking the game away from Goa.


A R Yadav was the most successful bowler for the visitors with figures of 3 for 54 and Shadab Jakati 2 for 52. H H Gadekar, S A Badiuzzmama and A Garg bagged one wicket each.


In reply, Goa were bowled out for 241 even as Sagun Kamat (63) and D W Misal (42) put up a brave front. They knit together a 58-run stand for the sixth wicket.


No other Goan batsmen could resist the Karnataka bowlers well as the visitors failed to build partnerships, which was crucial in chasing a 300-plus target.


Abrar Kazi and captain Vinay Kumar claimed four and three wickets respectively. Nair, Pandey and Rahul took a wicket apiece.


In the second match, Andhra Pradesh sprung a surprise as they overwhelmed traditional arch-rivals Hyderabad by six wickets.


Electing to bat, Hyderabad could manage a paltry 166 in 47.5 overs with Habeeb Ahmed and Hanuma Vihari scoring 44 and 43 each.


S B Dasari ran through the Hyderabad innings with match-winning figures of 4 for 21 in 4.5 overs. Dasari was well supported by P Vijay Kumar who claimed two wickets after conceding 37 runs.


In reply, Andhra chased the target at the expense of just four wickets and with 59 balls to spare.


Opener K S Bharath played a stellar role by scoring 60 off 87 balls, before he was given out leg before to T Suman.


The other wicket-taker for Hyderabad was India discard Pragyan Ojha who scalped two wickets for 46 runs in 10 overs.


The Tamil Nadu and Kerala game was abandoned due to rains.