Home > News >

Karnataka’s champion team felicitated by KSCA

Karnataka won the Ranji Trophy, Irani Trophy and the Vijay Hazare Trophy during the 2013-14 season © Getty Images
Karnataka won the Ranji Trophy, Irani Trophy and the Vijay Hazare Trophy during the 2013-14 season © Getty Images

Bangalore: Jun 29, 2014

The R Vinay Kumar-led Karnataka team, which won the Ranji Trophy, was felicitated by the state cricket association for its unprecedented achievement of winning three titles in a single year.

Also felicitated by Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) were six other state squads which had won Ranji Trophy, beginning from EAS Prasanna-led 1973-74 side.

Vinay played a stellar role as captain to win not only this year’s Ranji title after a long wait of 15 years, but alsobag the coveted Irani and Vijay Hazare trophies.

“The best thing about this team is everyone wants to play for India and that triggers an undying ambition – and when this happens most things will be taken care of,” Vinay said after the Board of Cricket for Cricket in India (BCCI) interim-President Shivlal Yadav honoured players of different eras.

Lauding his teammates, Vinay said they knew they had the potential but felt something missing in them and hence they huddled together and decided to take extra responsibilities before the start of the last domestic season.

“My team-mates were amazing throughout the season,” he added.

The first team to be felicitated was Prasanna’s squad that buried Mumbai’s long dominance over Ranji Trophy.

“We had the quartet best — GR Viswanath, BS Chandrashekhar, Brijesh Patel and SMH Kirmani. But can’t really say we won because of the four – every player played an important role,” said Prasanna who went on to lead Karnataka to a second title in 1977-78. Prasanna’s 1973-74 and 1977-78 teammates — Arun Kumar, Sanjay Desai, AV Jayaprakash, Brijesh, K Laxman, Sudhakar Rao, B Vijayakrishna, B Siddharamu, S Vijay Prakash, Roger Binny, Kamal Tandon, GV Kumar, Imtiaz Ahmed and HT Ramesh among others — were presented with a 400gm silver replica of the Ranji Trophy.

After Brijesh led the team to Ranji victory in 1982-83, there was a gap of 13 years before Karnataka grabbed the fourth title in 1995-96 with Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble and K Jeshwanth leading the side at various stages.

Remembering the humble rewards the winning teams got in his heydays, Brijesh said, “KSCA rewarded us with a sum of Rs 500 when we brought the first Ranji trophy home in 1973-74.  Comparatively the present team has been rewarded with Rs one crore in addition to the sum announced by Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah. They are all worthy of praise.”

While Dravid, Kumble and Javagal Srinath did not attend the event, Venkatesh Prasad, Sunil Joshi, David Johnson, Avinash Vaidya, Sujith Somasundar, J Arun Kumar among others were there at the function.

To mark the occasion, a first day commemorative cover and a stamp were released by the Post Master General Ramanujam.

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 30, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Abu Dhabi

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 2, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Cuttack

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 3, 2014 (09:00 IST)   at Khulna

South Africa tour of Australia, 2014

Nov 5, 2014 (14:05 IST)   at Adelaide

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 6, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Ahmedabad


West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 15, 2014  at Ahmedabad

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 7, 2014  at Bengaluru

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 30, 2014  at Hyderabad

Match cancelled

South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 27, 2014  at Hamilton

No result

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Oct 25, 2014  at Dhaka

Bangladesh won by 3 wkts


Pakistan vs Australia, 2nd Test: Australia's practice session


Tendulkar provides teaser on upcoming book

Kevin Pietersen saga: Stuart Broad, James Anderson saddened by bullying claims

Live Cricket Score India A vs Sri Lanka, warm-up match at Mumbai: India A maul Sri Lanka by 87 runs

Live Cricket Score Duleep Trophy Central Zone vs South Zone, final at Delhi Day 2: South Zone lead by 32 runs at the end of second day’s play

Live Cricket Score Pakistan vs Australia, 2nd Test at Abu Dhabi Day 1: Younis Khan reaches his 100

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: Rohit Sharma or Ajinkya Rahane — who should open for India?

Australia Australia tour of UAE 2014 Australia vs Pakistan Australia vs Pakistan 2014 Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe 2014 Central Zone Duleep Trophy Duleep Trophy 2014-15 India Pakistan Pakistan vs Australia Pakistan vs Australia 2014 South Zone vs Central Zone Sri Lanka Sri Lanka tour of India 2014

Bangladesh Cricket Board XI in CAB S K Acharya Memorial Challenger Trophy final

Pankaj Singh hopes for good season with Rajasthan

KL Rahul aims to emulate AB de Villiers’ style of batting

Rohit Sharma gave a fantastic account of himself: Sanjay Bangar

Younis Khan 4th Pakistani to score 3 consecutive 100s

Highest identical scores in both innings of a Test

Younis Khan — perhaps Pakistan’s greatest batsman ever

India A vs Sri Lankans tour match: Players look to make the most of opportunities

Viv Richards: How did he perform against the West Indian quicks?

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: Rohit Sharma or Ajinkya Rahane — who should open for India?

Fan of the Day

Niharika Shah

Niharika Shah

678 Posts | 6 Fans

Video Highlights: Younis Khan century during Pakistan vs Australia 1st Test at Dubai

Apple replaces user’s iPad for free after NASA rocket mishap

Ek Hasina Thi: Is Dev coming close to finding out Durga’s real identity?

सेक्स टिप #16: अलसी का बीज योनि शुष्कता की समस्या से दिलाता है राहत

हैदराबाद : भारत में पहली बार चिकित्सकों ने अजन्मे बच्चे का दिल का ऑपरेशन किया

Saina Nehwal climbs to No 5 position in Badminton rankings

India A vs Sri Lanka: Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey star in 88-run win

Xiaomi poaches Donovan Sung from Spotify to lead international product development: Report

Deepika Padukone, Priyanka Chopra, Parineeti Chopra- who rocks the high waist skirt more? Vote!

Also on cricketcountry.com

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here