Home > News >

Live Cricket Score: Australia vs Ireland ICC T20 World Cup 2012 opening match at Colombo

Live Cricket Score: Australia vs Ireland ICC T20 World Cup 2012 opening match at Colombo

With Shane Watson opening the innings, Australian batting line-up certainly exhibits a settled look but the absence of their most experienced T20 campaigner in David Hussey is still debatable © Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff

Colombo: Sep 19, 2012


Australia will be aiming to start their World Twenty20 campaign on a positive note when they take on “giant killers” Ireland in their tournament opener on Wednesday.


Australia has so far failed to tame the shortest format of the game and it will be a test of their character when they face William Porterfield-led Irish side, who are well known to spring a few surprises at the big stage.


Though, they have just one victory to their credit against an ICC Full Member side in the T20, their unpredictability can well be gouged by a thumping win over England in the 50-over World Cup last year at Bangalore.


Ireland’s World Cup triumph over Pakistan in 2007 World Cup in the Caribbean is yet another example of their ability to surprise big teams.


The Irish men have won both their warm-up matches in the build up to the championship and interestingly, they were also briefly ahead of Australia on the ranking list earlier this month, something that Kangaroos will be wary of.


Having lost to minnows Zimbabwe in the same championship in 2007 and being bundled out at the group stage in the 2009 edition, Australia will have a tough task at hands on Wednesday.


“I will only rest easy when that game’s (against Ireland) passed,” Australia’s coach, Mickey Arthur, said.


“That’s not through fear of failure. They have been a giant-killer and they’re playing with a quite nice bit of freedom. Any team in this competition can win if they have a good day,” he added.


Australia warmed-up for the campaign with a comprehensive win over New Zealand, but their nine-run loss to defending champions England in their second warm-up match, courtesy to some wayward bowling from their speedsters, would be a cause of worry for skipper George Bailey.


Bailey would definitely like the young quicks in Mitchell Starc and Pat Cummins to be more disciplined and he would also expect a better show with the ball from experienced Shane Watson and Daniel Christian.


With Xavier Doherty unavailable for the first match, Australia will bank on the slow left-arm chinaman of Brad Hogg to put curbs on Irish scoring.


With Watson and David Warner opening the innings and Michael Hussey and Bailey leading the middle-order, Australian batting line-up certainly exhibits a settled look but the absence of their most experienced T20 campaigner in David Hussey is still debatable.


The younger Hussey has been sidelined from the team following a streak of poor performances. His inability to finish matches in recent past has only added to his woes.


The 35-year-old veteran of 189 T20 games has been replaced with young Glenn Maxwell. The Victorian all-rounder has shown a lot of promise, but it remains to be seen whether he is able to fill the big shoes of David Hussey or not.


Irish batsmen, on the other hand, have been in good nick with opener Paul Stirling leading the charge with a quick-fire 71 off just 41 balls against Bangladesh and experienced Neil O’Brien coming good against Zimbabwe.


Ireland also boasts of big hitting Kevin O’Brien, who registered the fastest ODI century in the 2011 World Cup to see his team through against England. The team will further be buoyed by the presence of left-arm spinner George Dockrell, who was recently adjudged the Associate Player of year 2011.


The Irish quicks will, however, be led by experienced Boyd Rankin along with Alex Cusack. Porterfield may also play veteran Trent Johnston to add solidity to the side.




IrelandWilliam Porterfield (c), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O’Brien, Gary Wilson (wk), Kevin O’Brien, Trent Johnston, George Dockrell, Nigel Jones, Boyd Rankin, Alex Cusack


Australia: David Warner, Shane Watson, Michael Hussey, George Bailey (c), Cameron White, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Christian, Matthew Wade (wk), Brad Hogg, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc


Catch Live Score and ball-by-ball commentary here


ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2012: Match time table with group details

Pakistan vs Australia in UAE, 2014

Oct 30, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Abu Dhabi

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 2, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Cuttack

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 3, 2014 (09:00 IST)   at Khulna

South Africa tour of Australia, 2014

Nov 5, 2014 (14:05 IST)   at Adelaide

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2014

Nov 6, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Ahmedabad


West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 15, 2014  at Ahmedabad

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Nov 7, 2014  at Bengaluru

Match cancelled

West Indies tour of India, 2014

Oct 30, 2014  at Hyderabad

Match cancelled

South Africa tour of New Zealand, 2014

Oct 27, 2014  at Hamilton

No result

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Oct 25, 2014  at Dhaka

Bangladesh won by 3 wkts


Pakistan vs Australia, 2nd Test: Australia's practice session


Tendulkar provides teaser on upcoming book

Rohit Sharma gave a fantastic account of himself: Sanjay Bangar

Yuvraj Singh flays media for twisting statements on future in international cricket

India A beat Sri Lanka by 88 runs in tour match; Rohit Sharma, Manish Pandey, Karn Sharma shine

Kevin Pietersen saga: Stuart Broad, James Anderson saddened by bullying claims

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: Rohit Sharma or Ajinkya Rahane — who should open for India?

Australia Australia tour of UAE 2014 Australia vs Pakistan Australia vs Pakistan 2014 Central Zone Duleep Trophy Duleep Trophy 2014-15 India Pakistan Pakistan vs Australia Pakistan vs Australia 2014 South Zone South Zone vs Central Zone Sri Lanka Sri Lanka tour of India 2014

West Indies crisis: Trinidad and Tobago condemns West Indies’ pullout from India tour

MS Dhoni told me there’s nothing called ‘lucky’ or ‘unlucky’: Pankaj Singh

All-India PSU T20 Tournament: Oriental Insurance defeat HPCL

Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in favour of Najam Sethi as ICC President

Justice Mudgal Committee report on IPL spot-fixing to be submitted on November 3

Highest identical scores in both innings of a Test

Younis Khan — perhaps Pakistan’s greatest batsman ever

India A vs Sri Lankans tour match: Players look to make the most of opportunities

Viv Richards: How did he perform against the West Indian quicks?

India vs Sri Lanka 2014: Rohit Sharma or Ajinkya Rahane — who should open for India?

Fan of the Day

Niharika Shah

Niharika Shah

678 Posts | 6 Fans

Video Highlights: Younis Khan century during Pakistan vs Australia 1st Test at Dubai

Diet Tip #38: Choose whole wheat flour over white flour

Super Nani quick movie review: Rekha and Sharman Joshi’s melodramatic film is unintentionally funny

Apple replaces user’s iPad for free after NASA rocket mishap

Xiaomi poaches Donovan Sung from Spotify to lead international product development: Report

Bigg Boss 8 day 39 highlights: Upen Patel becomes the new captain, Puneet Issar continues to play games, Ali Quli Mirza bitches about Sonali Raut!

How to sterilise your baby’s feeding bottle in 5 easy steps

Also on cricketcountry.com

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here