Live Cricket Score: India vs Australia, 2nd Test at Chennai — Day 1

David Warner (left) and Ed Cowan will open the batting for Australia © PTI

Hyderabad: Mar 2, 2013

A confident India will take on a hurting Australia in the second Test of the Border Gavaskar Trophy at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium today.

India beat Australia by eight wickets in the first Test to take a 1-0 lead in the four-match series. As expected, MS Dhoni has gone in with an unchanged side in Hyderabad with local boy Pragyan Ojha failing to make the cut again.

Australia, meanwhile, have responded by dropping their lead spinner, Nathan Lyon, who leaked 200-plus runs in Chennai, and are playing two spinners. All-rounder Glenn Maxwell is the first as he makes his Test debut, while left-arm spinner Xavier Doherty also comes in for Mitchell Starc.

A rather surprising team selection from the visitors, and it has to be seen whether it works out.


India: Virender Sehwag, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

Australia: David Warner, Ed Cowan, Phillip Hughes, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (c), Matthew Wade (wk), Moises Henriques, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Siddle, James Pattinson, Xavier Doherty

Catch live scorecard and ball-by-ball commentary of Day One the second Test between India and Australia at Hyderabad here