Live Updates

  • 9:29 PM IST
    India 158 all-out, 30.3 overs | Pakistan win by 180 runs

    That is it. Curtains down. India do not defend their title. Virat Kohli does not win his maiden ICC title. They do not annihilate Pakistan the way they did exactly 2 weeks ago. The tides have turned. Pakistan avenge the humiliating loss. They win their first ever Champions Trophy title. Pakistan, who had entered the tournament as No. 8 team, have emerged at the top.
  • 9:06 PM IST
    India 152/7, 26.3 overs | Jadeja 13

    What is happening? Hardik Pandya is going bonkers. He has already walloped 6 sixes, and is cruising to his maiden hundred. Indians have something to cheer about. This is outrageous. Only God know where this game is headed to. But, wait. Bad news. Pandya departs as I write this post. What have you done, Jadeja? Pandya is livid. He is screaming. Terrible mix-up.

    OUT! Hardik Pandya run out (Hafeez/Hasan Ali) 76 (43)
  • 8:54 PM IST
    India 128/6, 23 overs | Pandya 59, Jadeja 6

    Six. Six. Six. Four. Hardik is batting on a different track altogether. He reaches 50 off 32. Kohli is up on his feet. Some respite, some entertainment for India. Some. Can India pull off the unlikely? Can they, really?
  • 8:33 PM IST
  • 8:32 PM IST
    India 72/6, 17 overs | Pandya 9

    OUT! Another one bites the dust. Shadab gets his second scalp. Jadhav top-edges to Sarfraz. Only rain can save India, but not even a single dark cloud looming over. The Pakistan flags are out, shining in glory.

    OUT! Kedar Jadhav c Sarfraz b Shadab Khan 9 (13)

  • 8:29 PM IST
    India 54/5, 16 overs | Jadhav 9, Pandya 5

    Not much hopes left for India, but Jadhav has already two shots on the leg: first, a pull over mid-wicket and then a delightful flick in the same region.

    If India are to stay in the contest, Jadhav and Pandya will have to fire on all cylinders. They have nothing to lose now.
  • 8:18 PM IST
    India 54/5, 13.3 overs
    Double blow for India. Dhoni holes out Imad Wasim in the deep. Hasan Ali gets his 11th wicket of the tournament. India lose half the side. Things look bleak for India. Game, set, match?

    OUT! Dhoni c Imad Wasim b Hasan Ali 4 (16)
  • 8:14 PM IST
    India 54/4, 13 overs | Dhoni 4

    OUT! Another setback for India. What a review! Shadab right away tells his captain that Yuvraj hit his pad first. DRS shows it is plumb. The onus now on Dhoni and Jadhav.

    OUT! Yuvraj lbw b Shadab Khan 22 (31)
  • 8:08 PM IST

  • 8:07 PM IST
    India 50/3, 11 overs | Yuvraj 21, Dhoni 1

    Sarfraz introduces Hafeez and it backfires. Yuvraj Singh collects three boundaries off it: over mid-wicket, down the ground, and through the off. This is the track Yuvraj would like to feast on. Dhoni, meanwhile, is not interested playing deliveries outside off.
India defeated Pakistan in their first ICC Champions Trophy 2017 match © Getty Images
India defeated Pakistan in their first ICC Champions Trophy 2017 match © Getty Images

After hardships of over two-weeks, India and Pakistan stand on the brink of One-Day supremacy as both teams after a gap of 10 years clash in an ICC final. The grand finale of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 will see arch-rivals battle it out in the middle as millions across the globe gore there eyes to this mammoth of a contest. I am Kaustubh Mayekar, and will be bringing to you the live scores, interesting bits and pieces from the world of social media in CricketCountry’s live updates blog for today. India has been dominant so far in the tournament apart from a small bump against Sri Lanka. Pakistan, meanwhile, have risen from the ashes like a phoenix as depicted after their thumping of England in semi-final 1. LIVE CRICKET SCORECARD: India vs Pakistan, ICC Champions Trophy 2017 – Final at The Oval

Just a few weeks ago, the Virat Kohli-led side thrashed Sarfraz Ahmed-skippered Pakistan by 124 runs in their opening match of the eight-team marquee event at the Edgbaston. Following the defeat, Pakistan managed to bounce back and beat South Africa and Sri Lanka in the group stage before defeating favourites England to book their place in the final. Defending champions, on the other hand, registered a resounding nine-wicket win over Bangladesh in the second semi-final to set up a mother of all clashes in the final.

If India manage to win at the Oval today, they will become the first team to win the Trophy three times and join Australia as the second team to defend the title.

“I don’t see any relevance of the first game here because you can never tell how a particular team starts a tournament. Some teams start very confidently and then they fade off. Some teams might not have the best starts, but come back amazingly, which Pakistan have done,” said  Kohli in pre-match conference.


India: Virat Kohli (c), MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Kedar Jadhav (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane, Umesh Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah

PakistanSarfraz Ahmed (c & wk), Azhar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Fahim Ashraf, Rumman Raees, Mohammad Aamer, Junaid Khan, Shadab Khan, Haris Sohail