Live Cricket Score India vs Sri Lanka 8th ODI at Brisbane: India chase 290 to win

Irfran Pathan provided India the much-needed breakthrough when he had the Sri Lankan skipper Mahela Jayawardene caught for 45 © Getty Images

By CricketCountry Staff


Brisbane: Feb 21, 2012

India need 290 runs to win the eighth One-Day International match against Sri Lanka in the ongoing Commonwealth Bank Series in Brisbane.


Lahiru Thirimanne and Tillakaratne Dilshan guided Sri Lanka to a strong total of 289 for six, both of the batsmen scoring half-centuries.


Tillakaratne Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene provided Sri Lanka a confident start as the two added 95 runs for the opening wicket after opting to bat.


Jayawardene struck two boundaries and faced 55 balls in his knock of 45.


Sri Lanka were jolted twice in quick succession and were slowed down by India after they lost openers Tillakaratne Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene.


Irfran Pathan provided India the much-needed breakthrough when he had the Sri Lankan skipper caught by his Indian counterpart for 45.


Dilshan took the attack to the opposition while Jayawardene dropped the anchor to consolidate his side’s position in the match.


Sri Lanka remained on top for most part of the first session as their batsmen dominated the Indian bowling attack which looked weak in absence of Zaheer Khan.


Both the opening Sri Lanka batsmen continued to score at a brisk rate as they crossed 50-run mark in the eighth over.


Dilshan slammed five boundaries and a six to score 51 off 72 balls. His innings came to an end when he was caught behind by Parthiv Patel off R Ashwin in the 22nd over.


Kumar Sangakkara’s poor form with the bat continued as he fell for just eight to Umesh Yadav, whereas Dinesh Chandimal failed to convert start into a big score as he was dismissed for 38.


Thirimanne hit six boundaries during his innings of 62, which came off as many balls.


Angelo Mathews played a quickfire knock of 49 not out, which included four boundaries and a six off 37 balls.


For India, R Ashwin and Irfan Pathan bagged two wickets each, but gave away 50 and 54 runs respectively in their 10-over spell.  


Brief Scores: Sri Lanka 289 for 6 in 50 overs (Lahiru Thirimanne 62, Tillakaratne Dilshan 51, Angelo Mathews 49*, Mahela Jayawardene 45; R Ashwin 2 for 50) vs India


Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the 8th ODI here


Photo Gallery