Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of the third day of the ongoing Ranji Trophy 2015-16 Group A match between Maharashtra and Karnataka at the Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) Stadium in Pune on Thursday. Maharashtra finished on a score of 70 for the loss of four wickets after 30 overs, with Rahul Tripathi and skipper Kedar Jadhav batting on 31 and 10 respectively. Maharashtra currently enjoy a 102-run lead, but need a strong partnership at this juncture of their innings in order to set Karnataka a stiff target, although their 32-run first innings lead has put the hosts in the driver’s seat at the moment in their pursuit of finishing the series on a positive note, having been eliminated from the series alreadyLive Cricket Score, Maharashtra vs Karnataka, Ranji Trophy 2015-16, Group A match, Day 4 at Pune

Live Cricket Score: Karnataka 61/1 | Overs 8 | Target 293 | BATTING: Mayank Agarwal 23(35), Robin Uthappa 25(31): At stumps, Karnataka need another 232 runs with tomorrow being the final day in the match. If the defending champions do not win this game, they are more or less eliminated fom this edition of Ranji Trophy.

Live Cricket Score: Karnataka 24/1 | Overs 8 | Target 293 | BATTING: Mayank Agarwal 16(17), Robin Uthappa 1(7): Blow for Karnataka as they lose their opening batsman Samarth early in their chase. Maharashtra’s Nikit Dhumal strikes just when stumps of Day 3 is just a couple of minutes away. Chasing a total of 293, Karnataka definitely want the likes of Mayank, Uthappa and aManish Pandey to make individual contributions. OUT! Samarth R b Nikit Dhumal 7(24)

Live Cricket Score: Karnataka 1/0 | Overs 1 | Target 293 | BATTING: Samarth R 1(5), Mayank Agarwal 0(0): Karnataka have a session and a day to chase down this target. Only a win in this fixture can help them qualify for the quarters of the ongoing Ranji trophy 2015-16. Maharashtra who dominated Day 3 frustrated the visitors’ bowling attack as they went on to post a good enough target when they did not look to do so on Day 2.

Live Cricket Score: Maharashtra 244/8 | Overs 82 | BATTING: Shrikant Mundhe 73(117), Nikit Dhumal 0(2): Shreyas Gopal made the crucial breakthrough for Karnataka when he dismissed Bharatkumar Solanki on the last delivery of the 80th over. Solanki who was clearly struggling with the bat lasted finally gave up after facing 43 balls scoring just one run. Maharahstra who lead Karnataka by 276 runs seem to play for a draw here. On the otehr hand the defending champions can progress in the tournament provided they win this fixture which seems a little difficult here. OUT! D Solanki LBW Shreyas Gopal 1(43)

Live Cricket Score: Maharashtra 211/7 | Overs 67 | BATTING: Shrikant Mundhe 39(59), Bharatkumar Solanki 0(2): Arvind Sreenath finally makes the brekathrough for Karnataka. He dismissed Rahul Tripathi who was well settled and had built a 96-run partnership with Shrikant Mundhe for 7th wicket. From here, Maharashtra lead Karnataka by a massive total of 243 runs. The defending champions have to pull off something big in order to win this contest and progress for the quarters. OUT! Rahul Tripathi c Manish Pandey b Arvind Sreenath 78(196)

Live Cricket Score: Maharashtra 187/6 | Overs 63.4 | BATTING: Rahul Tripathi 70(187), Shrikant Mundhe 39(59): Play resumes after lunch at MCA Cricket Stadium, Gahunje, Pune with the batsmen continuing to frustrate the Karnataka’s attack. The visitors undoubtedy want their skipper to step up and break this parternship. From here, Maharashtra lead Karnataka by 219 runs.

Live Cricket Score: Maharashtra 167/6 | Overs 60 | BATTING: Rahul Tripathi 57(169), Shrikant Mundhe 36(54): At Lunch, Maharashtra lead the visitors by 199 runs with four wickets to spare. If the home team manages to get a 250+ lead, it will be very difficult for the defending champions to win this contest and eventually a draw might eliminate them.

Live Cricket Score: Maharashtra 136/6 | Overs 54.2 | BATTING: Rahul Tripathi 51(159), Shrikant Mundhe 11(28): No more dismissals yet. Rahul has been superb so far for Maharashtra in this innings, deserving fifty for him! Karnataka desperatly want Vinay Kumar and Sreenath Arvind to strike to deny a huge target for them to chase in the final innings with more than a day left in the match.

Live Cricket Score: Maharashtra 97/5 | Overs 42 | BATTING: Rahul Tripathi 37(125), Vishant More 12(27): Vinay struck early on Day 3, removing Kedar Jadhav for 11 in 44 balls. Karanataka have to win this game outright in order to progress for the quarter-final of the ongoing Ranji Trophy 2015-16. From here, the hosts lead Karnataka by 129 runs with five wickets to spare. OUT! Kedar Jadhav LBW Vinay Kumar 11(44)

On the first day the defending champions kept Maharashtra down to 212 in the first innings and with the bat went with the score of 50 for one at stumps. They are now trailing by 162 runs with nine wickets in hand and have the opportunity to take an insurmountable first innings lead. They will be looking to achieve just that as it will not only confirm their qualification into the playoffs but will also give them momentum going into the knock outs. COMPLETE COVERAGE: Ranji Trophy 2015-16


Maharashtra: Swapnil Gugale, Sangram Atitkar, Chirag Khurana, Rahul Tripathi, Ankit Bawne, Kedar Jadhav (c), Vishant More (wk), Shrikant Mundhe, Anupam Sanklecha, Nikit Dhumal, Bharatkumar Solanki.

Karnataka: Ravikumar Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, CM Gautam (wk), Abhimanyu Mithun, Shreyas Gopal, R Vinay Kumar (c), Sreenath Aravind, HS Sharath.