Home > News >

Mumbai to face tough competition in West Zone T20 League

Zaheer Khan will lead
Zaheer Khan will lead Mumbai in the West Zone T20 league © Getty Images

Mumbai: Mar 29, 2014

The West Zone T20 league for the 2013-14 season would see some intense competition among five teams in their bid to advance to the inter-zonals next month.

The event, to be held at two grounds, would also help the players gear up for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) season 7 starting on April 16.

Wankhede Stadium in South Mumbai and Bandra Kurla Complex (BKC) Ground of Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) in suburban Bandra are to play host to the ten matches involving teams from Mumbai, Maharashtra, Gujarat, Baroda and Saurashtra.

The tournament kicks off with the match between Gujarat and Maharashtra at BKC Ground.

Seasoned speedster Zaheer Khan would lead hosts Mumbai’s campaign and the pacy and bouncy track at the Wankhede Stadium would suit him and Dhawal Kulkarni, who has recovered fully from the injury that sidelined him for the major part of the season.

Mumbai’s batting also looks impressive with the under-19 batsmen Sarfraz Khan and Shreyas Iyer propping the team along with experienced Suryakumar Yadav and Abhishek Nayar, besides attacking wicketkeeper-batsman Aditya Tare.

Baroda, with the Pathan brothers – Yusuf and Irfan – in the ranks along with paceman Munaf Patel, should be a strong contender though it would miss the services of the injured Ambati Rayudu in batting. Rayudu injured his ankle when playing for West Zone in the Deodhar Trophy final in Visakhapatnam.

Gujarat will be led by keeper Parthiv Patel and has the likes of the young Jasprit Bumrah and Manpreet Juneja to bank upon.

Maharashtra, which upset Mumbai in the Ranji quarter-finals at the Wankhede Stadium in January, has the likes of Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Zol and Ankit Bawne in batting department and seasoned pacers Samad Fallah and Anupam Sanklecha to look up to.

With Cheteshwar Pujara in a fine form in the 50-over format, Jaydev Shah-led Saurashtra too look good on paper.

All the matches at the BKC Ground would be day games commencing at 10 am, while all those at Wankhede would be day/night clashes commencing at 6 pm.

The top two teams in the round robin table will qualify for the inter-zonals for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy which is also scheduled in Mumbai from April 8.

The schedule is:

Mar 30: Gujarat v Maharashtra at MCA BKC Ground; Mumbai v Baroda at Wankhede Stadium.

Mar 31: Mumbai v Gujarat at MCA BKC Ground; Saurashtra v Maharashtra, Wankhede.

Apr 2: Mumbai v Saurashtra at MCA BKC Ground; Baroda v Gujarat at Wankhede.

Apr 3: Baroda v Saurashtra at MCA BKC Ground; Mumbai v Maharashtra at Wankhede.

Apr 4: Baroda v Maharashtra at MCA BKC Ground; Saurashtra v Gujarat at Wankhede.

India tour of Australia 2014, Practice matches

Nov 24, 2014 (05:29 IST)   at Glenelg, Adelaide

Hong Kong tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Nov 24, 2014 (10:00 IST)   at Colombo

Pakistan vs New Zealand in UAE, 2014

Nov 26, 2014 (11:30 IST)   at Sharjah

England tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Nov 26, 2014 (14:30 IST)   at Colombo

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 26, 2014 (12:00 IST)   at Dhaka


Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 23, 2014  at Chittagong

Bangladesh won by 68 runs

South Africa tour of Australia, 2014

Nov 23, 2014  at Sydney

Australia won by 2 wickets (D/L method)

Hong Kong tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Nov 22, 2014  at Dambulla

Match abandoned without a ball being bowled

Hong Kong tour of Sri Lanka, 2014

Nov 21, 2014  at Dambulla

Match abandoned without a ball being bowled

Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh, 2014

Nov 21, 2014  at Chittagong

Bangladesh won by 87 runs


Australia vs South Africa, 3rd ODI at Canberra


SL vs Eng: Buttler practices wicketkeeping in nets

Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe 2014, 2nd ODI at Chittagong: Highlights

Australia vs South Africa 2014, 5th ODI at Sydney: Highlights

Quinton de Kock’s century in vain as Australia register two wicket win over South Africa

Saeed Ajmal: 99 per cent bowlers will fail 15 degree test

Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque register second-highest opening partnership for Bangladesh in ODIs

Australia Australia vs South Africa Australia vs South Africa 2014 Bangladesh Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe 2014 India Pakistan South Africa South Africa tour of Australia 2014 South Africa vs Australia South Africa vs Australia 2014 Zimbabwe Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh 2014 Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh Zimbabwe vs Bangladesh 2014

India vs Australia 2014-15: Injury concern for Steven Smith ahead of 1st Test

Indians vs Cricket Australia XI, 1st Tour Game at Adelaide: Indians 55 for 1 at stumps on Day 1

Hong Kong lose five in chase of 73 against Nepal in 4th T20I

Brad Haddin may retire after Ashes 2015

Indians vs Cricket Australia XI, 1st Tour Game at Adelaide: CA XI bundled out for 219

Cricket Australia’s marketing gimmick strips umpires of their independence

Australia’s top form in ODIs: Early warning for teams heading to ICC World Cup 2015

Myth Busting — did Sachin Tendulkar’s rate of scoring become slower in the second half of his career?

Single-wicket cricket match between John Grange and James Sadler lasts three days

Bill Ashdown and Bert Wensley beat a team of 11 all by themselves

Fan of the Day

Niharika Shah

Niharika Shah

681 Posts | 6 Fans

Video Highlights: Virat Kohli vs Australian cricketers

5 reasons why Shah Rukh Khan has 10 million followers on Twitter!

हर्षवर्धन: समय-पूर्व होने वाले जन्मों की समस्या को रोकने के लिए अनुंसधान

India is becoming our largest overseas market, Xiaomi CEO Lei Jun says

Anirudh Ravichander spends time bonding with his sister in London!

Bigg Boss 8: Nigaar Khan relieved upon her eviction, says Bigg Boss 8 was a nightmare

राजस्थान: युवाओं को तम्बाकू के दुष्प्रभावों के प्रति अबगत करने की मुहिम

More broadband connections to boost GDP growth in Asia Pacific: GSMA

An emotional Roger Federer dedicates first Davis Cup title win to teammates: Watch teary-eyed Federer!

Also on cricketcountry.com

Play Fantasy Cricket & Win

Cash Daily! Click here