Martin Guptill (right) will be looking for a bright start © Getty Images
Martin Guptill (right) will be looking for a bright start © Getty Images


Jan 11, 2014


New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum has won the toss and elected to bat in the first twenty20 International against West Indies in Auckland on January 11, 2014.


The three-match Test series between the two sides was won by New Zealand 2-0. The five-match One-Day International (ODI) was tied at 2-2.


This is the first of two T20Is. The second match will be played in Wellington on January 15.


New Zealand have gone in with an expected side consisting Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Jesse Ryder, Corey Anderson and Tim Southee.


West Indies are led by Dwayne Bravo and they have Johnson Charles, Kieran Powell, Lendl Simmons, Sunil Narine and Tino Best.




New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (c), Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi (wk), Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Colin Munro, Adam Milne, James Neesham.


West Indies: Johnson Charles, Kieran Powell, Andre Fletcher (wk), Dwayne Bravo (c), Lendl Simmons, Chadwick Walton, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Nikita Miller, Samuel Badree, Tino Best.


Catch live scores and ball-by-ball commentary of the first T20I between New Zealand and West Indies here